Fishing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 28th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went on a fishing excursion out into the ocean, and it was not what I had expected, first off, the boat they show in the picture is not the same boat as the one you get, the one you get is its tiny little brother boat. Ok so I can do this, it would help if I wasn't a little hung over but, that's my own fault.

We head way out into the ocean where this is only the captain running this boat, most I have been on have a couple of hands to get things organized, well our captain is running around the boat, trying to do it all. This is where I realize just how often I have been on boats lately, I grab the grappling hook, through it at the buoy, retrieve the lead rope and without thinking, attach it to the front with a cross over knot so that we don't drift away, the captain looks over and gives me the thumbs up as he's tending to some engine thing?

I met two Australian guys and one Canadian on the trip, and they were fun to hang out with. We hardly caught any fish all day and had moved a couple of times, when right at the end of the day my rod crashes right over, I mean I think I have snagged bottom! I pull on this rod with all I got, and it pulls back, OMG it’s actually a fish!! I spend about 15 minutes fighting this (maybe it’s a whale?) we're all joking in the boat, then it comes closer, I ended up catching a barracuda (small albiet), how cool is that? So for the rest of the trip I'm all smiles. Very satisfied. Other than that we caught some little fish not really worth taking about. One of the guys got skunked.

After fishing we all went and played mini-golf, Canadians Vs Australians. There was quite a bit or rivalry going on between us, and some pretty heavy burns flying back and forth, but in the end the Canadians won by 6 strokes. It was fun. I'm meeting back up with them today sometime.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb