Koh Toa for Now


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
September 8th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My RoomMy RoomMy Room

My cabin at Freedom Guest House. The last cabin at the end of the path, which meant it was nice, sucluded and quiet.
I was discharged from hospital on the 6th of September with orders from the doctor to get my dressing changed everyday and return to hospital when enough flesh on my knee had grown back for a skin graft (roughly 7-10 days). I decided I would head to Koh Toa, the island I was supposed to of gone to do my diving on with Jack, Katie and co.

Koh Toa is a tiny island on the East coast of the Thai Southern Peninsula and is considered by many as the number one spot for dive spot in the world, offering cheap places to get your PADI qualification, beautiful dive spots, great snorkling and huge range of dive schools to chose from. Obviously this is not much good to someone in my position, however, Koh Toa is also home to some of Thailand's most beautiful and quiet beaches, perfect for someone not wishing to dive...............or the disabled.

I rented a moped the first day I was there so I could explore the island and check out some of the other accommodation available since I wanted to get away from the place I first checked into, which was in the busier part of the
My RoomMy RoomMy Room

Basic, but suprisingly comfortable.
island to the north. I managed to see most of the island by lunch time and in doing so I stumbled across Freedom Guest House...........paradise! I'd found the perfect location to base myself for a week of rest and recouperation. Located in the south of the island, Freedom Guesthouse is in a quiet, out-of-the-way location with Cabins built on stilts in the rocks overlooking it's own white sandy beach; Freedom Beach. The food served was good, the staff were friendly and there was a bar down on the beach. My cabin was the last one at the end of the path, which made it peacful and secluded and I had a spectacular, unobstructed view of the sunset across the sea. A 5 minute walk back along the road from Feedom Guest house was Shark Bay, a beautiful quiet beach and a further 10 minute walk up the road there were a few dive schools, some shops, internet cafes and most importantly; a clinic where I could get my dressing changed. So I had everything I was going to need for my stay within walking distance. Perfect.

There's not a great deal to say about my stay, I couldn't of found
View from Cabin - LeftView from Cabin - LeftView from Cabin - Left

View from my cabin to the left.
a better place for some rest and recouperation and after the hectic few weeks leading up to and including the full moon party, along with my near brush with amputism, it was nice to have some of peace and quiet, get myself into a bit of a routine and chill out. My day generally consisted of getting up and spending a couple of hours in the sun until midday, heading to the shops to get my dressing changed, grabbing a fruit shake, doing some internetting before heading to Feedom beach to watch the Sunset.

So, given that the primary reason that I was on Koa Toa was for my wound to heal in order that I could get a skin graft, I thought that I would introduce a new feature to my blog. For all you readers out there so concerned with the state of my health and eager to know how I'm doing, this feature, which I'm going to call Wound Watch is for you. In this blog I've posted a few photo's of my wound at various stages of healing whilst on Koh Toa so you at home can track my progress..........fun, huh? I will continue to put
View from Cabin - RightView from Cabin - RightView from Cabin - Right

The view from my cabin to the right.
up photo's until I'm fully healed. Enjoy!

As a final point in this blog I am happy to announce that after 10 days of sunning myself on Koh Toa I actually have a tan and I didn't burn once, ha. So, to all those of you out there (Greg, Krystal, Most of my past basketball teams, and generally anyone who chose to comment on the complexion of my skin).........I'm no longer pasty..........I'm a bronzed demigod! (shame there's no one around to witness it)


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Freedom BeachFreedom Beach
Freedom Beach

View of Freedom beach from just behind my cabin. A 30second walk down the path to get to.
Freedom BeachFreedom Beach
Freedom Beach

Viewed again from behind my cabin
Freedom Guest HouseFreedom Guest House
Freedom Guest House

Other cabins in the rocks at Freedom Guest House, by far the nicest place i've staying in yet.
Cabin at Freedom Guest HouseCabin at Freedom Guest House
Cabin at Freedom Guest House

Another cabin at the guest house
Shark Bay through the palmsShark Bay through the palms
Shark Bay through the palms

This beach was uber quiet and where I'd go most mornings
SunsetSunset
Sunset

An awesome view of the sunset each night from the porch of my cabin.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

ummmmmm.........nice!
Fire DisplayFire Display
Fire Display

Taking place down on the beach in the evening.
Wound Watch 1Wound Watch 1
Wound Watch 1

Just to remind you, this is what my wound looked like when i left the hospital.
Wound Watch 2Wound Watch 2
Wound Watch 2

The flesh is starting to regenerate.
Wound Watch 3Wound Watch 3
Wound Watch 3

The flesh is almost level with the skin now. At this stage the nurse said I should be ready for a skin graft so I headed back to hospital, in Bangkok this time.


29th September 2007

My God Robert!
Dear Rob, Went to ´wound Watch´ It is scary how a small injury can develop so dangerously. I am so pleased to see that it is healing well and I know that the Bankok hospitals are very good. So hope that is progreesing well. I loved the photos of you convalesence beech hut. The views were a real reminder that their is heat and sun in the world!! I continue at the orphanage in pomacanche in Peru. it is nearly a thousand feet further up the Andies thanCuzco and takes up to 3 hours of tortuous roads to reach it. conditions are primitive to put it mildly, but the children are beautiful and so affectionate, it is hard not to get too attached or to stop them beoming too attached to us. we spend weekends in civilisation in Cuzco and plan lots of fun workshops for their evenings. I am really emjoying it , except the toilet cleaning duty! I look forward to the rest of your trip, All love Penny

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb