Koh Samui and Koh Phangan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
August 16th 2013
Published: August 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a few days on Phi Phi I caught the ferry back to AoNang, although delayed, no reason given just a sign on the pier that said, "ferry late today", Thai time I guess. The crossing was a smooth one and I spent just one night in AoNang before getting up early to catch the bus and ferry to Samui. This was all plain sailing, the weather was good and I arrived in Koh Samui around lunch time. I was meeting up with Aoife who was from Eire, unfortunately her so called friend who she had been travelling with just decided to go home as she was missing her boyfriend. One of my ex-tour friends Ross had met her while they were on Koh Samui and asked me if I would mind befriending her as she was pretty upset by the events. We spent a very pleasant four days on the beach swimming, walking and eating. Aoife was good company and we spent a lot of time exchanging travelling experiences. I was planning to leave on Monday for Koh Phangan and on Sunday Aoife travelled up to Chiang Mai to spend a week at an elephant sanctuary. I felt quite envious I think if I hadn't already booked I might have joined her.

Monday I took the ferry to Koh Phangan, it was a warm sunny day and the crossing was calm. I took ferry to to thong Sala which was the nearest pier to where I was staying. A tuk tuk taxi collected me and took me to the place I was staying. The area I was staying in was really quiet on the north western shores. Most people visit the other end of the island which is Haad Rin, this is where they have the full moon parties and I felt I was a bit past it for those. I was happy to be in the quiet part of the island where nothing much happens, a stroll along the beach, a walk to the local shops, dinner on the beach literally a few feet from the waters edge, bliss. I met a lady Lorrie who was a teacher in Cornwall and we decided to hire a kayak for an hour and explore a little further than the bay we were staying. No safety instructions, helmets or seats, ha ha kayaking Thai style, just pay your money and off you go. Having said that it was pretty safe as the water was shallow and the sea calm. We had a great time and returned safely to Kayak another day.

Today I leave for Koh Tao to spend four weeks with my son, I am so excited as I haven't seen him since December 2011,almost two years and we have so much to talk about, just can't wait.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb