'Same same, but different'


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
October 12th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lots has happened in the past couple of days. After hurting my feet in Railay, I thought the best way to heal quickly was spend the whole of the next morning sitting on the West beach soaking my feet in the sea. It hurt like hell, but it worked and I'm now walking around in the absence of pain. Good stuff. After Railay I spent the night in Ao Nang and relaxed more on the beach. I also gave in to the temptation of Burger King. On Saturday morning I left Ao Nang for Krabi airport and caught my flight to Koh Samui. The flight was only 35 mins, so was well worth the 25 quid I paid.

I'm staying at a hostel in between Chaweng and Lamai. The place is literally on the beach and it's really quiet around here, which I like. This morning I hopped on a tour bus to join a day safari and I've just got back. It was such a busy day I'm absolutely shattered! The groups switched to 4x4s to go to our first stop in Namuang for some Elephant trekking, followed by swimming in the Namuang waterfall. It was beautiful...and hot. I don't remember the last time I walked around wasn't dripping with sweat.

For lunch we boarded the 4x4s again and headed for a restaurant at the highest viewpoint on Koh Samui. The food was good and the view was great! I took a ridiculous amount of photos, but I'm still not satisfied that I managed to capture how amazing it was.

We continued along the bumpy mountain tracks and I must admit I dropped the 'shaken not stirred' joke on the group which was well received. I had to stand in the back of the jeep to stop help keep my balance. It was great fun. I wish I had the chance to drive. I did ask, but it was a no go. :o(

Our last stop of the day was The Big Buddha, but we only had 15 minutes there. I climbed the steps and took a few photos before settling down with an ice cream in the back of the jeep. Not a bad way to end the tour.

I met a really cool South African couple who are over here for their 30th wedding anniversary (Marianna and Peter) as well as today being the husband's birthday. We decided to meet up for drinks tonight and our tour leader from today, Piot, is going to join us at some place called Solo bar. I may be in for a crazy night. I've got 2 hours to relax and recvover and then I'm off out again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The groupThe group
The group

It's hard drinking a bottle of beer when off-roading ya know!


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb