Ko Samui day 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
December 19th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday afternoon the sun finally came out and the waves receded so that there was a beach to sit on for a few hours. This was the most relaxing time since I came here.



Today I hopefully can talk to my travel agent to either get me to another resort or back to Bangkok until it's time to go Chang Mai.



I have considered going home. I find that the Thai's try to cheat you all the time. A couple of examples:

- buying fruit the vendor shortchanged me when giving me the change. I told him he owed me more money and he gave it to me. I doubt this was a legitimate error.



- cab drivers want to charge you a set fee to take you places instead of the meter. I now have an idea of what the cost should be and don't allow the cab to go without the meter on.



- I met some women from Wales who told me that a cab driver wouldn't let them out of his cab unless they gave him double the amount on the meter. They were frightened and gave him the extra money.



- when buying food from vendors, I have observed that the vendor charges me more money than the Thai's. I no longer buy things that don't have a set price.



- when getting laundry done, I found that the woman charged me 5x what she charges a Thai. I asked Will what she pays for laundry and it 10 baht (about 25 cents) a kilo (2.2 pounds) and I was charged 50 baht.



These instances are too common for it just to be bad luck. I think that many Thai's think it is ok to cheat westerners since we have so much more money than they do. But a thief is a thief no matter what your economic circumstances.



If I sound like I am a little irate it's because I am. I am beginning to hate the Thai's fake smile while they cheat you. So much for the land of a 1000 smiles.



Chaweng Beach seems to be a construction zone. Everywhere you look they are building something. All the construction noise takes away from the ambiance of the place.



That's it for now.


Advertisement



22nd December 2005

Deal with it
Deal with it champ, most of these people make next to nothing and the extra 10 cents they charge a foreigner means nothing to you but alot to them. Enjoy your holiday and stop crying a river over such minor matters.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb