Ko-Pasetic in Samui and Pha Ngan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
December 11th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Samui SunsetSamui SunsetSamui Sunset

I found this great little cafe right on the beach with a view of spectacular sunsets.
November 26th - December 4th:

I started my trip in Thailand visiting the north section and my plan was to return to the southern coast after the rainy season ended to soak in the sun and rest and relax for a few weeks before heading stateside. I hopped on a plane from Hanoi, Vietnam and flew to the beautiful island of Ko Samui where I stayed for a few days before island hopping to the slower paced Ko Pha Ngan.

Ko Samui is comprised of golden beaches, hidden coves, an inner forest grooved by creeks and waterfalls, a picturesque ring road that takes you around the island in a one hour drive, the tranquility of the resorts contrasting with the jazziness of the night life, the convenience of full-scaled tourist services that have not yet completely destroyed the primeval atmosphere - all together made it a great starting point for my island hopping excursion. Still feeling the effects of the virus I picked up in Vietnam and the antibiotics running through my veins I wanted to stay away from the hectic and party beaches of Chaweng - think of Wildwood, NJ with a tropical island flare - so I
Lazy Days Lazy Days Lazy Days

A wicker hammock where I found myself spending the majority of my days in Ko Samui.
headed to Hat Maenam. A quiet, relaxing section with a small crescent-moon shaped beach I found a bungalow on the beach with a hammock and a view of the surrounding islands. I was the only person staying at the guesthouse that was completely secluded from everything and everyone else and in my fever filled nights I convinced myself I had malaria and if something was to happen to me nobody would ever know. Two-months of solitude finally getting to me! Luckily my fever broke and I was on the meand after a few days filled with long sleeps, daily naps and many advil and bottles of water. As soon as I felt better it was time to move on.

Ko Pha Ngan is the smaller sister island to Samui and has a simple atmosphere with inland mountains and rugged granite outcrops along the coast. Famous for it’s Full Moon parties, which weren’t taking place while I was there, it’s a pilgrimage for ravers. Still in the low season the island was quiet and somewhat desolate with many of the bungalows and guesthouses still closed. I headed to Chaloaklam, the largest bay on the North, protected by a coral reef
Rainbow Bungalow SunsetRainbow Bungalow SunsetRainbow Bungalow Sunset

Wathcing the sun set from the steps of my bungalow in Ko Samui.
that shelters the beach from the tides providing turquoise colored waters that splash against sun-bleached beaches. I found another bungalow that sat right on the beach and settled in for a few days of laying in a hammock, strolling the white sand beaches, exploring the small fishing village, hiking the trail to secluded Bottle Beach (sorry Ben but everything there was still closed), dining on fresh seafood at beachside cafes while watching stunning sun sets and doing a whole lot of nothing.

After a week of doing nothing and feeling 100% better it was time to head to Koh Tao and take in some scuba diving.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Beer Can Wind ChimeBeer Can Wind Chime
Beer Can Wind Chime

A unique approach for a wind chime in Ko Samui - Chang beer cans.
Sunny Day SwingSunny Day Swing
Sunny Day Swing

One of my favorite spots in Pha Ngan. Grab a bucket of beers and swing the afternoon away.
Longtails in Pha NganLongtails in Pha Ngan
Longtails in Pha Ngan

Wooden boats with a truck engine strapped to a long metal pole with a propeller serves as water taxis on the island.
Malibu Beach MushroomsMalibu Beach Mushrooms
Malibu Beach Mushrooms

White sand beach in Pha Ngan with bushes that stand like giant green mushrooms.
Fishnet Hammoks for Afternoon NapsFishnet Hammoks for Afternoon Naps
Fishnet Hammoks for Afternoon Naps

Hammocks made from leftover fishing nets are scattered through the palms on Maibu Beach in Pha Ngan. A nice place to take a break and catch a nap.
For A Three Hour Tour...For A Three Hour Tour...
For A Three Hour Tour...

Just sit right back and you'll hear a tale, a tale of a fateful trip that started from this tropic port aboard this tiny ship...
Sending Out An S.O.S.Sending Out An S.O.S.
Sending Out An S.O.S.

Message in a bottle...message in a bottle. Lyrics by the Police, photo of Chaloklum beach in Pha Ngan.
Awakening from a NapAwakening from a Nap
Awakening from a Nap

The first site my eyes see after awakening from a nap in my hammock in Pha Ngan.
Thailand Lady Boy with Double DsThailand Lady Boy with Double Ds
Thailand Lady Boy with Double Ds

Fun with coconuts in Pha Ngan.
Golden Coral Golden Coral
Golden Coral

A sun-bleached dried piece of coral lies on the beach in Pha Ngan as the setting sun turns it gold.
Pha Ngan PC GravePha Ngan PC Grave
Pha Ngan PC Grave

Washed ashore a PC screen finds a home among the coconuts and trash.
Missing Two CoronasMissing Two Coronas
Missing Two Coronas

Looks like a Corona commercial; shot from pool bar at Guest House in Pha Ngan.
SwingerSwinger
Swinger

The beaches in Pha Ngan have many swings that hang from coconut palms that sway in the breeze and swing over the sea.
Pha Ngan Bungalow ViewPha Ngan Bungalow View
Pha Ngan Bungalow View

Taken a few steps from my beach bungalow.


13th December 2007

Virus BGone
Alan: So glad you're feeling better. I'm sure those days of feverish solitude and lazy stumbling from bungalow to hammock (to beer bucket and back) will be the mellow blur you'll remember about these months. Keep the photos and journal entries coming until you step off the plane in the U.S.! In fact, 'm thinking you should continue the Smoovey journal well into your retirement years: "And here's a photo of the paper clips on my new office desk. The yellow ones are particularly bright against the cool backdrop of the steel grey ink blotter." Just a thought. Be safe, be well, bedazzled.
13th December 2007

beautiful
one picture is just more stunning than the other I may want a copy of your Samui sunset - blown up and put in my tv room so I can pretend I am there - have a blessed Christmas and a new year filled with more exciting adventures for you love Ma

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb