De-toxing in Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
February 25th 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunset at Big JohnSunset at Big JohnSunset at Big John

Ahh - cheesy but the sky was asking for it!
Bry speaking: Hopped on a ferry from Koh Tao to Samui and headed straight for a place we'd had lunch when last here on our honeymoon, Big John's - it was as stunning as we remembered. World's away from Chaweng; quiet, beautiful and great seafood. Then after having looked through some spa guides we decided not to go for the standard facial, back rub affair... but for something a little 'deeper.'

So, here we find ourselves on our third day without food, paying for the privilege of daily colonics. Now, I'm not going to go into detail, suffice to say it has been a truly cleansing experience. Not much else to say about Samui really, as we've been on 1.5 hour returns to the fridge for various de-tox herbs and delicious volcanic clay shakes... mmm! But the pool and beach are great, so we've topped up our tans nicely.

On the last day of de-tox we were looking forward to a lovely meal, only to be told that we had another 5 days of slowly easing ourselves back on to real food. First day we were only to eat Papaya. My resolve lasted about an hour, we got into Nathon for the ferry and I followed up my plate of Papaya with a healthy dose of Tom Kah Gai... my favourite Thai dish (coconut soup with ginger and lemongrass). I was fine, so we decided to throw caution to the wind and eat what we fancied. All fine, no adverse reactions. Looking back, I definitely got more from it than Tom. My skin looks better than it has in years (tan helps) and I feel more content and adventurous. Tom, however, got tonsilitis. Our nutty 'support tharapist', Sentha, would no doubt blame it on his inner-cynicism stopping the healing from working. On my part the jury's out. Could just be the week of no alcohol and early nights that did the trick for me.

That said, I am definitely starting to miss home with some strength now. It's a weird sensation. I am enjoying what we're doing, but I am also tiring of it. Especially living out of a bag. I feel totally content, but would happily jump on a plane home and get back into the swing of the normal routine.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb