Last Few Days of Beach Life :'(


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
January 5th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

New Years Day I woke up to lets say a rather shall I say 'dishevelled' looking Paul. I threw him a look of disgust

''What the HELL happened to you??''
''Baby'' he slurred ''You have got to come with me and meet these people!!''
''Paul, its 10:30 in the AM. I feel like somebody has been jumping on my head. What the HELL is that??'' I asked pointing to the half empty bottle of chang he was swaying about swigging and dribbling down his chin. He ignored me.
''Come on!! Come and have a beer with these people!'' He tried to whisper the second part, like a naughty school boy.
I rolled over and covered my head with the pillows and went back to sleep.

{P} Well, what started as a normal (ish) day, i was awake at 6.30. AGAIN! But today seemed different... No Hangover...YES!!! Still not wanting to wake Lauren, I decided to walk to the 7/11 for some orange juice and a paper. I stood up, I fell over.. I was still drunk haha. Thats why I had no hangover. Oh well, sun is shining, a bit of vitamin C will do me no harm. I couldn't get a top over the graze on my arm, which I still have no recollection of how I got. I left the hotel with good intentions..Honest I did.

No soon I'd left the White, I headed for the closest 7/11, 2 minutes away - half way there I heard it..WE ARE LEEDS WE ARE LEEDS. haha. A guy headed my way, dressed in illuminous orange vest, Sweat bands and singing his heart out! He'd just left the beach party and was heading home for a few more Changs ''Come and join me'' not wanting to let a fellow Leeds fan down, I decided, why not, I'm in the Phi Phi's! We stopped at the 7/11 and picked up a six pack and headed off to his place, opposite the Reggae Bar which even though was empty was still blaring Bob Marley out. We wasn't even there 2 minutes, when his mate, an Irish guy came out swigging Chang too. It was going down way too easy for this hour, as we chatted about football and Thailand, they insisted I met the Leeds fans sister, as she went home and away matches (even friendlys) and knew everything about Leeds. We needed more Chang, Leeds fan decided enoughs enough, I'm off to bed. Ok. Me and Irish would carry on the party. I headed to the 7/11 for another 6 pack and his sister (joanna) was walking home. ''Oh my god, another one of us'' she'd also been partying all night. We drank more and more Chang, I was steaming by now and decided it was time to get Lauren up and into this party. Stood up. Oh Dear! I was way too drunk for this time. Still I headed back to get her.

''pssssst Lauren''
''How the hell are you that drunk, Its only (blah blah blah blah)''
''I'll be across from the balcony''
''PAUL!!! (blah blah blah blah)''
''Just across from the Reggae Bar''

Back I went to carry on with the Chang session :o)

An hour later Lauren trotted up shaking her head at us. We all decided not to waste the sunshine and head for the beach.

{L}

I woke up, did that actually just happen? ''Pauulllll??'' No answer. It happened. I remembered him murmuring something about the Raggae Bar was it? Yes thats where he would be. I wasnt wasting the sun sat on a dingy balcony, I'd need to sleep this hangover off on the beach. I hastily stood under the shower, washed my face, threw on some clothes, swallowed a couple paracetamol, put on some shades and headed for the Raggae Bar. I heard them before I saw them, what a state. I found it quite funny, sick.. but funny. I told them I was headed for the beach and they were welcome to come (thinking they would have a wash or something first). ''were going to the beach!!'' Paul shouted and tripped over an empty bottle. Oh God. What was I getting myself in for here? He wouldn't get changed, get a towel or put sun cream on. I left him to it and went for a walk in the sea. When I returned I found him face down in the sand still full of pink and yellow rave paint. I woke him up and he told me he was 'going home to charge the ipod for half an hour'. I had a full day of blissful sunbathing and watched the sunset.

I returned home around 6:30 and he was still fast asleep on the bed. I woke him up and advised him that he really should drink some water. I made him have a shower, he was burnt real bad. I was on the floor in hysterics when I looked at his burnt legs, where the 2010 and 2011 had been in paint it was WHITE he had burnt it into his legs HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! It seemed he was feeling like I was at daft o'clock this morning. I dragged him out for some tea and he almost fell asleep in his Pizza. Bolton was playing liverpool in a couple hours and I really wanted to stay out for it. He did look an alarming shade of white so I had to take him home. He passed straight out again and I followed him not long after.

January 2nd

Paul awoke his usual self again bright and early. The plan was to get ourselves up to Chaing Mai, we only had a few days left and due to fly home from Bangkok early on the 5th :0( He'd been to look at flights and other means of transport, due to lack of funds and time it would be impossible. We decided to have a couple more days of chilled out beach life before headed back up on the sleeper train or plane. When we looked into the Sleeper Train we were informed that it was fully booked up until the 5th. Crap. The plane, fares had gone up and we simply couldn't afford it. It would have to be a boat from the Phi Phi to Krabi and then a bus from Krabi to Bangkok - the journey would take a total of 16 hours and we would have to set off at 2:00 pm tomorrow. This was our last day. We tried to book our room for the last day, it was fully booked. We'd need to find another. I packed as Paul went to find a room. Luckily he found one similar to the one we were in just around the corner ran by a man found of pink polo shirts and tiny dogs. We waited for the room to be cleaned, threw in our sacks, handed in some laundry and headed for the beach. With it being our last day we wanted to find a special beach and considered hiring a Kayak but after watching a couple of chinese guys capsize theirs 7 or 8 times and give up after 20 minutes - we decided against it. We did however find a nice spot right on the other side of the Long Tails were we wouldnt be mivered. We lay there all day reminiscing our adventures so far and trying to cook up plots of ways we could stay. For the last time we watched the sun go down on Phi Phi Island.

January 3rd

As I opened my eyes I shut them tight again.. and reopened them again. I thought If I closed my eyes and wished really hard we would be able to stay. It didnt work, I'd have to get up and pack. Paul had already been up a few hours. He went down to the beach alone with his morning paper, a cute little dog sat by him the whole time. His eyes looked wet, he sat down on the bed to give me a cuddle and didnt say much other than he could'nt believe we were going and it was almost over. I tried my best to consolidate him telling him that we still had a few days left yet. We packed up the room and went downstairs to pick up the washing from Mr Pinkie. Every single pair of Pauls shorts was missing. We kicked off and Mr Pinkie was arguing that we hadnt given any shorts, we argued back that 4 pairs had all gone. Paul was getting angry and even threatened to ring the 'Fucking Police' Pinkie replied (and I couldnt help but turn round to giggle) ''YOU NO FUCK AT ME!' hahaha. After explaining that we had photographic evidence and they would have to pay, he got the washing woman around. Off she went and after 10 minutes returned and guess what?? 3 pairs of Pauls shorts (plus a pair of mine that I hadnt actually realised I was missing) had miraculously appeared after they'd tried their best to convince us they didnt have!!! We were still a pair of Pauls shorts down and sent her back again. Funnily enough back she came with the shorts! The cheeky b*stards had tried their best to have us off. We left our bags there locked up and went to say good bye to the island.

We stood ankle deep in the clear water. I left Paul stood slightly in front to have his own private moment too. I looked out onto both sets of rocks surrounding the beach, the long tails taking laughing groups out on various trips, I felt the sand between my toes and thought of all the times Id whined about it sticking to me, I thought of all the times Id whined of the salt water stinging my eyes, the lucky lucky guys practically sitting on you til you bought something, cutting my feet on the rocks... I wanted to rub sand in my face. I wanted to bury myself in it so we didnt have to go. I wanted to grab Paul and beg him to help me build a sandcastle that we could live in forever, beg a local to let us live in his shack.. ANYTHING anything so we could stay. I let a silent tear fall down my cheek, I walked forward and took Pauls hand. ''Bye Beach'' I whispered.

We walked in silence and found a lovely restaurant over looking the beach. The waitress was a little funny with us because we wanted to sit on the metal tables out near the sand and everyone was else was sat inside. 'Dont start witch' I thought, Im leaving and highly emotional and dangerous, I might steal your identity or something. I may even tie myself to the table, they might leave me - We'd be granted a life long visa because I loved their Country so much they'd have to let us live here. I was brought to reality as the waitress rudely asked us what we wanted. I ordered a sea food salad, paul ordered shrimp curry fried in a pineapple boat. Even though I ordered a simple salad and Paul ordered a curry.. guess whos came first? Yup, Pauls. Always serve the mans first. His meal looked and tasted delicious he had to hold it close to him so I didnt steal it. We finished up and had one last silent moment over looking the sea. For as long as I live I will have the image imprinted on my brain, of the perfect beach and our perfect time spent on it.

Adios Amigos xx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb