Ko Phi Phi Don


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
December 15th 2008
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View point snap shotView point snap shotView point snap shot

The famous view of Ko Phi Phi double bay
I left Sydney to Malaysia the last 16th November, following by 15 days traveling through Kuala Lumpur, jungle & island trip.
The 3rd December I went to Ko Phi Phi Don, an island in the South Ouest of Thailand.
After 2 days there, I joined a organize tour for snorkeling on the nearest islands.
During this tour, I did a cliff jump, from about 12m high, but my reception was not good, violent and very painful for my back, with 3 vertebras pack down for final result :-(
I'm having a strong backache for a couple of days after, still little bit painful now.
I could just enjoy swimming and snorkeling
But it was not too bad, because I met some friendly people here, and my back needed rest, so I decided to stay there for a while, till my departure to Bangkok, the 15th December
I really enjoyed snorkeling around Ko Phi Phi, and for the first time for me I saw just front of me many sharks and a big moray eel, wonderful experience :-)
I saw some sharks during 3 different snorkeling sessions, in two places.
In the best place, only 100m from the beach, in less than
Heavenly visionHeavenly visionHeavenly vision

Hat Run tee
1m deep water, I saw first one shark, a second one, and then so many times I couldn't count !
At some point, I looked around me and saw 5 sharks turning around in the same time !!
And very close, I approach a small at 1m far only.
But don't worry, they are not dangerous, in fact they tried to escape rather than come close.
They were from 50cm to 1,5m long.
One other time, I just turn my head in the water, and suddenly, a huge garfish looked at me with his long teeth like it smiled to me !

For the rest of time, I walked with some friends through the Island to discover new beaches (See my pics ;-)
I enjoyed too relaxing on the beach, and eating in small restaurants my feet in the sand of the nearest lane of beach, a good place to admire the sunset.
At night, I danced in the famous parties they organize on the beach, it's not only during the full moon, but almost every night !
Thai really like party, which give it a good atmosphere, because they is not only some travellers to this parties, but
Hat Run teeHat Run teeHat Run tee

relaxing Swimming in the crystal water, around 30°C by the beach...
a pleasant mix Thai/tourists.

Now I'm nearly at the end of my trip, my new destination is Bangkok, then 3 days in Dubai before landing in Paris.

See you ;-)

Florian



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ko Phi Phi LehKo Phi Phi Leh
Ko Phi Phi Leh

Dizzy karstic cliffs
Sunset from Hin Khom BeachSunset from Hin Khom Beach
Sunset from Hin Khom Beach

A men walking on the sea, Jesus is back !?
Full MoonFull Moon
Full Moon

Lodalum Bay


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb