A Quick Update on the South


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have approximately 3 minutes to write this so I apologize for the rushed nature.

Our last days in Chiang Mai were uneventful since we spent the better part of 2 weeks there and had nothing at all left to do.

So I'll move on.

Flew down (wow it feels nice to be flying again after countless long bus rides) to Krabi and spent a night there before moving over to the honeymoon destination of Rai Lay (pronounced "Riley") beach. The area is known for it's rock-climbing and not being one to let a good opportunity pass I signed up for a half-day guided session. It was amazing. The safety-conscious will also be happy to hear that I wore my helmet the ENTIRE time even though I was the only one out of 20+ climbers at that site that chose to wear a helmet. I felt a little dorky, like that kid who wears his snow pants to school after the year's first dusting (thanks, Mum) but I did it anyway.

After that we got on a very stormy ferry ride to the famed island of Ko Phi Phi (the movie the beach was shot here). It was a little unnerving considering what happened in the Philippines. Also we had to wade out to catch a motorboat there and all my stuff got SOAKED in the rain. The climate being damp, nothing is drying either. The room is festooned with half-mouldy travel clothes.

Anyway, Phi Phi is really nice. It has been raining a lot which isn't desirable for a beach destination, but I like it in a weird way. All the tourists huddle in cafes and restaurants and are forced to entertain themselves. DVD rental places are common. I was saying to Adrienne, while contemplating over instant coffee, that being here while it's rainy is a little like seeing a beautiful girl without make-up. Feels more real somehow.

Anyway, we had a diving place recommended by some Canadians we met at the meditation retreat, so we've been hanging out there a lot. They have the cheapest beer on the island! Even cheaper than 7/11! Tomorrow we're doing a snorkelling trip with them.

Then this weekend it's off to Phuket, the island I hear is akin to a pan-sexual bazaar.
Should be interesting.

Advertisement



26th June 2008

I hope your journal and photos and stuff are okay! Yahoo for helmets. You were clearly the cool kid at the climbing site. From a Junior Kindergarten teacher point of view, children who DON'T wear snowpants when there's snow on the ground end up trailing in water and sitting in damp clothes and complaining all day about how they're wet and cold. Kudos to Mrs. Ash.
26th June 2008

Not bad for three minutes. My Dad went to Phuket when he was in Thailand. We had a lot of fun with pronunciation of "Phuk-et" on the t-shirts he brought back.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb