Happy New Year


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
December 31st 2007
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wat PhoWat PhoWat Pho

Reclining Buddha
Its 2 hours before the New Year in Koh Phi Phi, and its all about warm water, soft sand, and a very slight breeze. Seriously it is paradise. Its shaping up to be one of the best New Years ever for me. I am very lucky to have a very beautiful visitor from SF who came to come share some adventures in Thailand over the holidays. It has been really nice to have some new adventures in thailand and also to see how places have changed after the tsunami. Its pretty incredible how quickly all signs of the disastor have been erased, at least superficially. Below the surface there seems to be an even stronger community at least in Koh Phi Phi that seems to be focused on rebuilding and helping others. However thats not to say that its not about the bizness here. Its much more expensive than I remember especially over the holidays.
But its been fun to be back in Thailand and its always nice to be able to show someone special how amazing this place is.

hope you all are well and may all our dreams come true in 2008.



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

BangkokBangkok
Bangkok

near Khaosan Rd
Koh Phi PhiKoh Phi Phi
Koh Phi Phi

another sunset
Koh Phi Phi LeyKoh Phi Phi Ley
Koh Phi Phi Ley

snorkeling
Tatoo shopTatoo shop
Tatoo shop

about to get a traditional Thai style tatoo
post tatoopost tatoo
post tatoo

happy new year


31st December 2007

Happy New Year 2008
I miss you and am so happy that you are having a great new year. I wish you both the best in 2008. I will go and make a snow angel for you in Fargo. love mom
4th January 2008

A Perfect Start to the New Year
So nice to see the pictures up already! Thank you for sharing part of such a special trip with me. I had an amazing and unforgettable time and am still glowing from the experience (and that's only partially the sunburn). You are brimming with more tranquility and presence of mind than I have ever seen in you, and I can already tell that this trip is bringing you some of the clarity you are seeking. Good luck in India-- I know it is a change from the easy holiday atmosphere of Thailand, but remember that you can find comfort and insight in surprising places at surprising times. You are an inspiration and I am so proud of you for following your dreams--you deserve all of it!!! Sending you all my wishes and thoughts for a profound and exhilirating adventure, and for a safe return home, whenever that may be...
6th January 2008

Yo BK!
BK- well it sounds like you are having an amazing time my friend! I love the pics and stories, what an amazing place! I want to know what you got a tatoo of! I think that you have really started your year off right my friend...I can sense in your spirit that you are feeling refreshed and those sharp edges are smoothing out. I can't wait to talk to you! Be safe and Happiest Of New Years to you! Ang

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb