Now I have been robbed!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 20th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Haad Rin BeachHaad Rin BeachHaad Rin Beach

The beautiful beach of Haad Rin when its not holding the Full Moon Party
I have finally arrived in the party capital of Thailand - Haad Rin beach. Its on the run up to the world famous Full Moon Party and the vibe is getting stronger as each day passes. It is a completely mental place with different parties kicking off every night. I don't think I have ever drank so much in my Life. I have been on buckets of Vodka Redbull for only 100THB. No wonder everyone is in such a state... but then again it could be the mushies they seem to slip into the shakes or the dodgy amphetamines dropped into the drinks. I am sure my drink was spiked the other night - I was bouncing off the walls

I randomly bumped into another backpacker (Owen) that I met in India. He told me how his credit card was stolen and they spent $5K in a jeweler. He had to go back to the UK to sort out the mess before he could continue with his travels. Freaked out by what he told me, I returned to my bungalow and decided to check my emergency credit card was still stashed in the bottom of my backpack. I couldn't
Koh Phangan Bikers!Koh Phangan Bikers!Koh Phangan Bikers!

Flying around the dodgy roads of koh phangan on motorbikes
believe it when I discovered that it had gone.

The next day I telephoned Barclaycard to find out my credit card had been stolen 7 days ago and some tea leaf had been on a spending spree around Bangkok. I am still really confused as to how they got my PIN number, it kind of freaks you out when something like this happens. Thank god Barclaycard covers all fraudulent use, they saved my trip!

Although I am not 100% sure, I believe my credit card was stolen on the bus trip from Bangkok to Surrathani. I have recently been told that someone climbs inside the luggage compartment and goes through the bags robbing everyone blind. Glyns credit card was also stolen!

I managed to get back on a motorbike after 6 years since my last motorcycle accident. I nervously went touring around Koh Phangan after being persuaded by my new found friends. Eventually we ventured off road and onto some dangerous winding dirt tracks. I was a little more cautious this time around and managed to get through the day without any accidents.

Flying around Koh Phangan is a fantastic experience. The island is absolutely beautiful
The LadsThe LadsThe Lads

On the run up to the Full Moon party
and its great fun riding a motorbike up the steepest hills. The dirt tracks can be difficult to navigate and its not uncommon for people to come off the motorbikes and end up with the well known Thai Scare (exhaust pipe burn) on the leg. Everyone seems to have their leg bandaged up following some sort of motorbike incident! Its usually a hot topic of conversation at the bar.

While touring Koh Phangan on motorbike we stumbled across a dog going crazy at the side of a dirt track. A closer inspection revealed that the dog was actually in a full on fight with a snake. While the dog would bark and bite at the snake, the snake would spit poison and bite the dog. This went on for about 30 minutes. It was an amazing thing to witness. I have a movie clip on my camera so I will upload it soon.

The count down is on for the Full Moon Party .. wayhayyy

more photos are at: www.dazcrawford.smugmug.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb