Whale Sharks and what not


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 21st 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I pulled myself away from the beautiful beaches for a quick update at a cheap internet cafe. I've been down in the islands off the southeast coast of thailand and got a chance to do a little scuba with a friend ian and his girlfriend from sf. The first dive was ok and just felt like I was getting back in the swing of scuba diving after a four year hiatus. But the second dive was amazing. Right when we pulled up to Shark Island everyone started going crazy and jumping into the water in whatever portion of gear they had already donned because a 50 foot whale shark was swimming right next to the boat. I was in the second group so I was still putting on my wet suit on the roof of the boat but i got a great view when it surfaced right next to the boat. It seemed to be enjoying the attention up to a point so it swam figure eights under our boat for at least a half hour. It gave me enough time to get my gear on and get into the water and it swam around us, under us and at one point we got to swim along side of it about 10 meters under the water. Its amazing to see it move through the water. It also had a couple of what looked like smaller sharks swimming along side of it. The rest of the dive was great but its hard to top swimming with a whale shark. After Koh Tao we headed to Koh Phangan for the full moon party which was ok but it was my second time and its definitely no burning man. Well one more week and then I must tear myself away from the beach and head back to Bangkok to catch the flight to SF. Look forward to seeing you all sometime soon.

Also I wanted to do a quick shoutout for my very close friends who are putting out their first album. The band is The Broken Music Box and their first album is called Waking the Sound. I'll keep you posted on the release date. Here is some press and their myspace page.

http://eardrumsmusic.com/2008/02/19/the-brokenmusicbox/

http://www.myspace.com/tbmb




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Koh PhanganKoh Phangan
Koh Phangan

Thong Nai Pan was a beautiful beach on the northeast side of Thailand
sunrise in Bangkoksunrise in Bangkok
sunrise in Bangkok

one more day...


22nd February 2008

My Son, Lord of the Whales
We will never be able to be in your presence again after that incredible experience. Did you get any pictures from atop the boat? did anyone else? Awesome times for the young man from Prescott, AZ
24th February 2008

you could be mayor of Chino Valley!!
Dude...unreal!! Who woulda ever thunk it that a boy from a mind controlling cult from po-dunks-ville would see the things that you are seeing!!! Awesome! Can't wait to have you back home BK...
26th February 2008

Beautiful
My brother, friend and inspiration ! Love what you are doing out there mate, you deserve it. Can not wait to see you and your happy spirit ! Love Bav

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb