Arriving In Koh Pha Ngang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the way across the island of beautiful big palms and coconut trees there was a elephant sanctuary..ELEPHANTSES!! So exciting!

The resort has lots of little bungalows going down the hill. My first one was up a steep hill with a beautiful beautiful view over the sea. I was worried about my leg so I swapped with Anny and Scott to a lower one, with 2 single beds in. It was so nice to have a bed to sleep in..i passed out for a few hours on the bed(by accident) I hadn't even seen the beach yet! S+A came and got me out of my stupor. They have such an amazing nack of having energy after having no sleep!

The beach is absolutely gorgeous! After a few beers on the beach with the sunset we had our first meal..much needed! and got a well deserved early night.

The resort is not in the guide books because the road up to it isn't paved. This is great because it has kept it really peaceful and laid back-the only reason we knew about it is because the brother of the owner works for the bus company and promoted it to us! So lucky as it has the best snorkelling on the island with free gear we can borrow, hammocks hanging from coconut trees, a caiyack and some rope swings hanging over the water. The resort is owned by a lovely family that all work together, Penn, Sunny, Pa and Anny(another one!) They have hired help from Burma and a girl from Laos(just 16) it is much cheaper labour and the foreigners get more money than they would in their country-so everyone is happy!

Day two I woke up at lunchtime and chilled out. My leg was really hurting. I had heard of a lady called Took who had "magic hands" along the beach so I went there for a massage. She is such a warm person. The massage however was agony.. she had such a caring look in her eye so I felt reassured. She cant really speak english she just says "up up good?", "you ok?" "you hurt?" .

Day 3
After heading into the local village for some bits and bobs, swimming was on thecards! The water is sooo warm and lovely here! Sorry if I am makin anyone jealous, it comes with a a cost island life...about 25 mosquito bites so far!!

I visited Took again and she really hurt me this time..she was sticking her elbow into my knee pit..and thrusting it in there to relax my leg muscle..soooo painful..I was almost in tears and screaming out in agony..mossiti mossito! As it was dusk they were everywhere so I was also being bitten and battered.

Thai children are beautiful. The little girl I took photos of is called 'bra pa pon' she is 15 months old and it was the first time she had ever walked into the sea. Oh how she wanted to, but her mother Pratsanee held her back so I could take photos of her - they did not own their own camera!! So sad! I took loads of photos and they were so grateful. I offered to send them the photos and they were sooo happy! In return they offered me a free boat trip for the next day how good!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb