Bangkok to Koh Pha Ngang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
January 13th 2008
Published: January 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Birthplace of my camera!Birthplace of my camera!Birthplace of my camera!

Such a good way to promote her, by taking a great shot of me and Anny!!
Sawadeekah!! I am in Kho Pha Ngang, doing my first ever blog with my first ever digital camera!

I will start at the beginning of our trip in Thailand we arrived shell shocked and tired last Saturday the 5th January. After a taxi drive from the airport to the town we arrived on Koh San Road. Full of tourists and white skinned people everywhere. Our first taste of a new culture..english speaking westerners! It was soooo hot around 32 degrees so we sheltered in an irish pub (of all places) and had some thai food. I thought it would be little portions like we get at home but each thing was a whole meal! doh! We quickly found a room. It was cheap and had internet which was ace! My bed was buckled in the middle so I was a bit uncomfortable but it was amazing to sleep.The streets were full everywhere of little shacks selling food, so cheap, like 30p a meal or something. My main difficulty is that I didn't know how to ask for vegetarian food..(now I know 'maisabai'-no meat) which was a real difficulty...pad thai is so lovely and veg spring rolls too!

Had a heavenly massage, with hot herbs steamed in a bag and pummelled into my aching back..my calf muscles were really hurting and my shoulder beforehand. So nice to have some TLC..if a little painful at times. The room was filled with westerners all laid out being massaged by the thai, a bit weird being half naked in a room with so many other people but heavenly all the same.

Later that day my leg hurt more than it had before, like a cramp.

I spent some time on my own travelling across Bangkok to change my flight ticket. The first day I travelled for 3hours round trip and forgot it was a sunday doh! and the STA was shut!! Next day I went again through the main city (so so western it could be a city anywhere) and took a sky train there which is a train track on a flyover over the road). I got there eventually and changed my ticket from Feb to July so I am now returning 3rd July!!! Woohhooo!(and its good cos I can always change it again if I like!!!)
I missed the temples in Bangkok but I will see them next time..good to know I have my ticket sorted!

We left on the Monday evening to come to Koh(island) Pha Ngnag. What a mission! Bus Bus Bus Sawthong (which is a open back 4wheel drive with two benches either side) Ferry Sawthong! It took a grand total of 20hours to get to our island resort..so much waiting around but it was worth the wait!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Little dancing peopleLittle dancing people
Little dancing people

in the temple shrine type thing doing their thing!
Place for cats?Place for cats?
Place for cats?

Not my kind of place me thinks!
Round about the elephantsRound about the elephants
Round about the elephants

These were a roundabout right near the palace in Bangkok.
Trekking to the coach stopTrekking to the coach stop
Trekking to the coach stop

We were told the coach left from outside the travel agents..many things here end up not being as they would seem!
Middle of the night coach stopMiddle of the night coach stop
Middle of the night coach stop

Two headed Anny-Anna!
Tasty toiletTasty toilet
Tasty toilet

The toilet at the travel stop was err grim. To flush you get water from the pit and pour into the toilet..nice!
Anna Paper CupsAnna Paper Cups
Anna Paper Cups

Some thai girls were pushing a trolley with this box on and I asked if I could take a photo saying that it was funny because it was my name..they thought it was funny because they thought my name was 'Anna Paper Cups'!!
Happy New Year!Happy New Year!
Happy New Year!

Its so funny to think it was new year less than two weeks ago! I can't quite get my head around it. There are still Christmas decorations up here!


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb