Ko Pha Ngan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got up quite late.

Had breakfast anyway then went to Haad Rin Nai to try and catch a long boat to Haad Sadet then do a small walk to see the Than Sadet falls. But when I got down to the pier the long boat drivers wanted 2000bt!! Makes me quite mad when some of the locals think they can take the mickey like that.

So went and hired a scooter for about 200bt instead. Had to go through the whole inventory thing which took a while (need to try and pick up everything as id heard stories of people missing small scratchs and then having to fork out 5000)

Got on my trusty ride and got fulled up in town. Then headed out along the meandering coastal road then found the road I needed. The road quickley detirated into a really poor dirt track. So I turned back then took the next northern road along.

Stopped at a small so called cafe at the top of a hill for some water and to take some photos of the views. Then continued on. This road also suddenly became a dirt track (not as bad as the first one. and I had to be very carefull not to lock my brakes, esspecially down some of the very steep roads.

Found the turning to the Than Sadet falls then the falls them selves. I have to say the falls were really disapointing despite being recommended in the lonely planet (still think Im in went to the wrong place now). Even asked a local woman who assured me I was in the right place and the reason for their lack of impression was due to the lack of rain.

Anyway continued on my way to the resort of Haad Sadet. Very nice beach, but again really empty. Tried to get some lunch but the cafe there was deserted of staff. So a couple there directed me to a resort further up the coast.

Headed there (Haad Thong Nai Pan) and it was a much bigger and livelier place. Had an excellent yellow curry near the beach and read the paper.

Made my way back at a lesurley pace. Got back at 4:00. Then went straight down to the beach at Haad Rin Nok for a swim.

Got back sorted myself out and after some more internet time went down to get some dinner. Afterwards I found myself bar that was showing the French open womens final which was over very quickley.

Went back to the Guest House bar where there was a live band playing. They seemed to have ten different singers of varying levels of talent. They did some great Thai rock songs and good covers of ACDC songs and rage against the machine. Put they slaughtered U2s with or with out you though.
Got talking to a Swiss girl called Natalie (so to studying at the Police Academy) and later headed down with her and some of the band members (how rock and roll) to one of the beach bars for a few drinks.

Didnt have that many drinks but enough. Got to bed at 3:30 (not very rock and roll?).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.2665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb