Thailand is great


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Chumphon
April 1st 2008
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello again, its 4:44 am so now is as ood as time as any for an update, I just got off an overnight bus and am waiting for another bus at 6am to take us to a ferry dock for the island of Ko Tao where I will spend the next few days relaxing on the beach and hopefully some scuba diving, I left the 2 girls I was traveling with in Bangkok because spending a week in Bangkok being the third wheel on a shopping spree is not my idea of a good time....

Since the last update i succesfully worked 16 days straight at the Zucchini picking which turned out to be not so bad, you get a good tan, get to work outside, make new friends, and you make 16.24 an hour with only 13%ish tax. Made some nice Japanese friends, they taught me a few new words, wrote my name out in Japanese...

Went out the last night before I left with some people from work, drank some jugs of beer...

Spent Easter Sunday on a 8 hour bus ride to Maroochydore. Next day I went fishing since the hostel had free fishing rods and caught 2 massive fish, one was the size of a ping pong ball, but I was still quite proud of myself. That night met a friend from Regina who I actually met in New Zealand for supper and then had some drinks at her campsite.

Next day took the train to Brisbane where I stayed with some friends and we got pretty schmammerred, We can out drink Aussies no problem. Next day our flight didnt leave until 130 AM so we just hung out until we went to the airport where we found our flight to be cancelled. The airline put us up iin a sweet hotel for the night which was beautiful after 4 months of hostels, my bed had 7 pillows on it and I got to use a clean towel so I was pretty pumped. Next day we made it to the country of Brunei and since we missed our connection we had a night there in an average hotel. Met some fellow backpackers on the flight so we all walked around together, went to a mall, nothing too exciting. I wanted to go to the palace of Brunei but I guess you cant see it very well. There is some really nice Temple/Palace things here I want to check out on the way back, we still have 1 more night here...

Flew into Bangkok, its about 40 degres here... Cab driver didnt know where he was going so he drove for abit then decided to pretty much stop in 7 lanes of highway traffic to call for directions, that was fun.
The driving here is a bit erratic...

Stayed the first 3 nights on Kao San Road which is pretty much a tourist circus. People trying to sell you everything and always in your face. Really cheap food and shopping though, Thai food is awesome so far.Spent the first 2 days shopping the second day was my bday so that night we had drinks with the people we met on the plane and went to a Muay Thai boxing match which was pretty overrated, expensive seats+ the fighters were only 15 years old+ empty stadium, just not the experience I had pictured, but oh well. We then drank some 1$ beers from 7-11 and then 7 of us piled into a tuk-tuk which is basically a golf cart taxi and went back to Kao San. We walked by a stand selling bugs so adventurous me decided we should eat some, I had afew takers and 4 of us ate a massive grasshopper ( I ate 3/4 then spit the rest out, it wasnt that amazing) and then we ate a maggot which actually wasnt that bad!! pics of this will be on facebook soon...

We then went to a few bars listened to some live music and I was home by 1 since we had a tour booked for a 7 am pick up the next day...

The tour took us 3 hours out of the city where we ate lunch on a floating hotel. We went rafting down a river on a big bamboo raft, took a trip to a small waterfall, and went for a elephant ride, they are really wobbly, you wouldnt want to be too hungover, and the trainers had these scary spiky sticks for hitting the elephant if they got bad so that was kinda troubling.

Next day took a trip to a national park to an amazing 7 tier waterfall which was a 2km hike to the top, you could swim in every level and it was really nice, there were lots of wild monkeys in the trees...

Got back to Bangkok said Cya to the girls, took a cab to the train station not even knowing if I was going to get anywhere, the trains were full but I got a bus so now I'm here writing and hopefully Thailand is fun by yourself cuz thats the way its going to happen for Brando.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes, they mean alot!!

Take care people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb