Ten Days


Advertisement
Published: September 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!

I have a new story for you. When I first arrived in Bangkok we stayed at a hotel for one night called the Novotel Hotel. It is very big and fancy. It is very stunning. The rooms were very organized; the courtyard is packed with lots of details from natures like real trees, gardens, and a tiny river with a bridge running through foyer.

It has a big desk and a silver lotus flower on top. The flower was big.

The room was a nice quiet space with one nice bed and a window through the bathroom which was very clean.

The next morning we had breakfast in the restaurant. I had two croissants; very yummy, one glass of punch and some bacon and cereal with milk. The milk sort of tastes the same.

At 12:30 we took a shuttle to the airport and waited for an hour and a half to get on the next plane. At 2 o’clock we got on to the plane and flew for an hour. We landed at Phuket Airport, got our bags and got in a taxi. There was a lady that came with us in the taxi. I think she was the wife of the driver and I fell asleep on her lap. We drove for an hour and a half and went to a place called Cousin Resort.

It is owned by a lady named Sang. We stayed there before, but there are a few changes. She moved some things around; the restaurant has a new roof and no more old huts to sit in. I was sad that the restaurant wasn’t running because she has a very nice texture to her grass soup and I couldn’t get any. But next month the restaurant will be running again so I can eat her soup!

Two days later we moved to our apartment by the orphanage. There are more houses and people here now. Two days after we got Ban Phru Teow village (where we live) we bought some shelves to put our clothes in and a little mini storage bin. This time the apartment is better because it is more organized.

When we rented our motorcyc (that’s motorcycle in Thai) it was nice to be in open air again. I miss that a lot. I don’t like riding in the rain, I got my favorite pants soaked and that didn’t feel good at all. When you ride in the rain we have to have plastic shawls so we don’t get wet. But we get wet anyway. The last time we rode in the rain my hood kept on falling off and it was really hard and mom had to hold her hood down so she could see through the rain.

For the last four days the streets have been flooded with water. Nam Tooum means flood in Thai. I like playing in the water on the streets but mom doesn’t let me cause I’ll get soaked and its dangerous cause the water covers things you could step on.

The rain tubs beside our house are full now. There is so much water in them that they are overflowing!

The dogs in the village are sort of messed up and icky. Some have sickness, some are bleeding from fights. The dogs that live at the orphanage aren’t very gross. The girl is called Qun Dam and the boy is called Biap (which means wet). Those dogs get baths but they still smell.

The eighth day, me and Miles got sick. Its not as bad as last time though. But the rain is making the coughs. Yesterday Miles had asthma. (Note from mom…Miles saw a Dr. from Yemen who was here to visit the children…he is fine)

Mae Cee is a lady that lives across the street. She likes Miles, and is very nice and kind. But me and Miles can’t understand what she says.

She cooks Miles noodles all the time and loves kids.

I miss home a lot but I am glad to be back in Thailand. This is like my second home.
Bye, love you all! Hugs!






Advertisement



16th September 2007

Hi Marrin: So great to read your blog. I am glad you are feeling better after being a little sick. I hope it stops raining real soon. Write again sometime and have lots of fun with all the kids. I am wearing your bracelet you gave me until you come home. Love you lots.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb