Ao Nang


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ao Nang
February 13th 2008
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a few days of traveling on planes, buses, tuk-tuks, trains, taxis and by foot, I finally arrived in Ao Nang, which is a beach just near Krabi. Visiting Ao Nang was recommended to me by my brother, who visited here last year. I'm glad I took his advice, as I have had a very relaxing time since I arrived. All I have done is swim, read/sleep on the beach, swim, etc. My most challenging decisions have been where to eat - what a tough existence! The 20 Baht banana shakes have been a particular highlight (that's less than one Australian Dollar!).

When you are in the water at Ao Nang you can see some small islands off shore (one of which was used in the James Bond film, 'Man With the Golden Gun'😉. The long strip of beach is shadowed by palm trees and at one end is cut off by a striking cliff face that is spotted with lush, green foliage. Each morning has been glorious and simply beckons you to head for the beach.

Last night I went to a bar called 'Upstairs' which overlooks one of the two streets that makes up tiny Ao Nang. It just happened to be happy hour, so I tried some of their cocktails (which cost less than the price of a beer back in Australia) as a treat. I had another drink with dinner, which is somewhat of a regret now that morning has arrived.

Today I am heading off to Koh Lanta, which is a large island just off the mainland, but close enough to be accessed by a couple of car-ferry crossings. From here I am planning on heading to Koh Lipe, which is a tiny island in the Andaman Sea to the west of Thailand and right on the border with Malaysia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th February 2008

koh lanta yai
hi travellers, I´m glad you´re going to Koh Lanta. That wos one of my top favorite island. we had a really chep hotel with swimmingpools, bars, big rooms with air con., tv, fridge... and so cheap cheap. I can recommend you to hire a motorbike to going around the island. thanks for the postcard!:o) anita

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb