A view into Umpiem camp


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Um Phang
December 3rd 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Trainers and locals tell me this is the most beautiful of the 9 camps because of its stunning sights and location. As my stomach churned around the twisted bends and turns of the one and a half hour journey from our office, you could definitely see why. The landscape and scenery was breathtaking and many of the families’ homes are situated on a hill overlooking a panoramic mountain view. It is no wonder refugees stay at the PC for the week, rather than commute back and forth each day. Trainers also have an option of staying in a guest house, which I definitely will be doing next time.

Umpiem is much cooler then Mae La camp because of its mountain top location. According to demographics taken by TBBC the feeding population of Umpiem from June 2008 was 15,976. There have been 4,073 refugees who have resettled from Umpiem since June 2008. Apart from the excruciating and what appeared to be never-ending drive to the camp, I would have to agree it is in a stunning location. The photos I have included gives you a view into the camp and the people appeared to dress more traditional then at Mae La camp.

I have decided to include a lot more detail in my blog entries to keep family and friends updated as they have been frequently asking me about my activities and what it is like here. I thought it would be good to give some comprehensive information and it also provides me with my own personal record.

While I thought I would have more time here it has been the exact opposite, traveling to camps and the time required to leave work is quite tiring. I really admire the trainers with the schedules they have, no wonder on weekends they are catching up on sleep. For me the 5-6 weeks have completely flown by and I am sure will continue to do so. Next week will be quite exciting as I meet families bound for Australia.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb