Ruins and a lesson on Buddha


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
January 31st 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=Vrv8aIqwIaA]

Ruins and a lesson on Buddha



Hi again everybody! I’m really excited for this post! We’re in a town called Sukhothai, which means rising happiness. It’s pretty crazy how many dogs there are here. Everywhere you go you can see dogs lying down on the sidewalks and even in the street. It’s been really interesting with Nate and Jessie being 2 of the only foreigners here and me being the only monkey. Everyone stares at us everywhere we go because we really stand out. What’s the matter, haven’t you ever seen a monkey traveling with his friends before? I’m just joking around. Everyone here is really nice, and the kids like to wave at us so we’ll smile and wave back to them. I don’t think they see many people here who aren’t Asian. The one bad part is that there sure are a lot of cockroaches here at night. You should see Jessie jump in the air every time she sees one running on the ground. Haha! It’s really funny to me! We had one fall down from a fan when we were having a soda one night, too. Luckily Nate stepped on it right away so it didn’t crawl up his foot again! I’m glad he did too, because that one was half the size of me! It gives me the creeps, uugghh.

My favorite part of being in Sukhothai was going to see the old city ruins. I got to ride there in another songthaew, and Nate and Jessie rented bicycles to get around. They did have some bikes there for kids too, but I still couldn’t reach the pedals. I just rode on the handlebars with Nate and Jessie instead. The statues and carvings were so awesome! I got my picture taken with a BUNCH of Buddha statues. I took another video when we were there, so I hope you get to see it. Boy, I’m going to get really strong from all this exercise! One of the statues was at the top of a big hill. Nate and Jessie were getting tired, and they weren’t sure if they wanted to hike all the way up. Don’t worry, I gave them some encouragement. “Come on guys, you can do it!” They had to stop a couple times to catch their breath, but we made it to the top to see a really tall standing Buddha, and a smaller one of Buddha sitting. I got my picture taken in that one’s hand! “Please don’t drop me! Haha!”

After a long day at the ruins, we got back to our new home and it was laundry day again for Nate and Jessie. I’m sure glad I’m not a human. I wouldn’t like having to do my laundry in the sink or in a bucket all the time on this trip. Do any of you think you could do it? We were a little hungry, so we went to the market and got some fresh mini bananas. Now that’s what I’m talking about! My favorite! They’re extra sweet here too, so I ate a lot of them. I also had some Sukhothai Pad Thai. MMMMmmmm, it was tasty! I washed it down with a nice cold bottle of coke, and it was back to the room so we could call Nate and Jessie’s parents from the computer. After a long day in the sun and a full stomach, I was extra tired. Jessie said I MUST have been worn out, because I was snoring louder than when NATE snores. Sorry guys!

Today we’re being lazy since we have a 5 and ½ hour bus ride to get to Chiang Mai tomorrow. I know it’s going to be a long day, but I can’t wait to get there! That’s one of the cities we’re the most excited for. I hope you all had a good weekend. I’ll be sure to write again when I have new adventures to tell you all about. Bye for now!

Wylie



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb