Am I Thai in disguise??


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
February 22nd 2005
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wats of Sukhothai
Biking the Old City grounds
Pass the water please!

After an awesome breakfast of toast, eggs, bacon, lettuce, tomato and fruit (btw, all for 95 TB…about $3CDN!) we headed off for Old Sukhothai to check out some of the ruins/temples. We grabbed bikes and rode around to the various sites. Was a pretty relaxed bike ride mixed in with lots of stops...so basically it barely felt like we were biking at all.

We had a local guide, Tong, take us around. He kept bugging me all day that I was Thai. He would not let up that I wasn't Thai. Always speaking to me in Thai. Too funny. So perhaps all those "stories" from my siblings that I was adopted are true?? lol Tong was really informative telling us all about the Enlightened Buddha...unfortunately I don't think I retained more than 25% of the information he shared with us.

Our other local guide, Naa made us a fabulous picnic lunch that we shared under shaded cover. It was so yummy...penang curry, papaya salad, cucumber, marinated chicken...yummers! After a bit of a break it was off to see a few more wats (temples) and bell towers before heading off to a ceramics factory/studio. That was really interesting. I spent most of my time watching a guy make huge platters. It was really amazing to watch! They also had a lot of other hand sculpted pieces that at first looked identical but upon closer inspection they were all a little bit different.

We had the option of going for a swim at the local pool but I decided not to go since they were only going to go for about 30 minutes...too much work to change and shower for such a short time. Besides, I don't really swim! lol

I did however decide to go for a traditional Thai massage since it was only going to cost me 200 TB (that's less than $7 CDN) for 1.5 hours. For the most part the massage was pretty good. There were a few painful moments especially when the elbows were involved! Plus it is amazing some of the positions she moved my legs. lol But as I said overall the massage was a positive experience...especially the massage on the head, face and shoulders…too bad that was the shortest part of the massage. lol

Dinner was a nice one in town. I decided to try out the Pad Thai and was not disappointed one bit. Only thing was, it took FOREVER for the food to arrive. Or at least mine. Food comes out as it is made so it is basically the luck of the draw whether your food comes out first or if it comes out last.


Advertisement



23rd February 2005

Isn't Thailand fantastic?
I'm a Canadian living in Thailand now -- since July 2004 -- and agree with much of what you said. The people are lovely and everything is so inexpensive. Where are you now? - melissa

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb