I think is Thailand and a good motorbike ride


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Sukhothai
November 13th 2006
Published: November 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think this is ThailandI think this is ThailandI think this is Thailand

Sukothai at sunset
Try number three to get this posted. My computer seems to do funny things these days.. I'll try to rewrite what I had.

I decided to go to Sukhothai this weekend. I took the "minibus" to Sukothai via Tak squahed in the back until the fourth person in the backseat was asked to leave at the checkpoint for immigration violations. The police are too corrupt here... it's quite apparent. I got to Sukhothai. My "hotel" resembled by living quarters with a TV and quasi hot water but that;s what you get for what I paid. I got to watch the one English station Australian Network. New Sukothai is about 15 km from the Old historical Park so I decided to rent a motorbike. I think this one was a lot better as I had no problems getting there, going around the huge park, and getting back.

Sukothai was amazing. The whole park is a ruin of the old capital from about 800 years ago. I decided to leave the park go have a coffee and come back to see sunset.

Today was a very trying day. I had a meeting with Dr. Cynthia, Paw Sah Soe (the new ARH leader now that KD is gone and Alice is busy). We have another training this weekend (yes SAat, Sun, and Mon.). Then I had to teach English class. These teeny-bopper Thai girls from the Technical School apparently came to sit in on my English class and to "interview" me but they giggles and couldn't speak any English - even less than my students. I wasn't in a mood to sit with them or teach my class. Oh well it happens.

I have to go to the border this weekend to get a new stamp and will probably have to leave the country again by Dec, 19. Burma isn't looking too good as the one day I was going to go to the Embassy to get a visa it is the Monday after a Thai holiday which is closed. I may have to go to Laos or Cambodia instead as you can visa on arrival. I'll have to wait to book my air ticket until I know I can get a visa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

KD John's going away dinnerKD John's going away dinner
KD John's going away dinner

my good Kachin friend going back to Burma for a while


13th November 2006

Looks pretty amazing!
The pictures of Sukhothai look amazing, I looked at a bunch on Google before you went and yours are even better! I am glad you had a chance to get away for a while and enjoy this awesome place (even though the hotel was a little sketchy, at least it hade TV!) Looking forward to the 6 weeks left passing quickly!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb