Settling in


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Mae Hong Son
March 17th 2015
Published: March 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Lots of lovely things happened today that made me feel like I was settling in to my new surroundings. The first was that Ing-Ka suggested I try something new for breakfast. She clearly felt comfortable enough with me to criticise my rice-soup habit, and made me an omelette. Another thing was rearranging my bedroom (see picture). Another - Lii laughed when I asked her for a watermelon shake (to my un-Thai ears, the conversation went (me) "tang moo pan", (Lii) "eh?!??", (me) "tang moo pan", (Lii) continue to look blank, (me) *get watermelon from fridge, (Lii) "ah, tang moo pan", (me) "ban?", (Lii) "pan", (me) "pan", (Lii) *nods and smile "pan" then walks away laughing and talking about tang moo pan to the other Thai speaker). We played in the river with Dtae and he's getting more comfortable with us. Moo said "goodbye, see you tomorrow" especially to us when she left. And all the guests were pretty cool tonight.

We'll have been here only a week by tomorrow evening so I'm sure there's a lot more settling in to go yet.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb