Arrival to Chiang Rai, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Rai
August 21st 2014
Published: August 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Chiang Rai province covers some 11,678 square kilometres with a population of 1.23 million at an average elevation of 580 metres above sea level, it is the northernmost large city in Thailand. The provincial capital is 785 kilometres north of Bangkok. About 13hr driving, 10 hrs by bus and 1hour and 20 minutes by plane. My last minute ticket from Bangkok to Chaing Rai was $80USD but if you book with time it is a lot cheaper.

Chiang Rai was founded in 1262 and was conquered by Burma and remained under Burmese rule for several hundred years. The province contains Thailand's northernmost point at Mae Sai, is well known for its crisp mountain scenery, and hilltribes, and falls within the region known as the Golden Triangle, the area where the borders of Thailand, Myanmar and Laos converge. Here is more info about Chiang Rai.

I had found several options for staying in Chiang Rai. I didn’t know were it was a convenient area to stay so I chose Cordelia Hotel by reviews: Conviniency of location and the photos and price looked very nice.

I arrived to the hotel around 5 pm I dropped my luggage and went for a walk straight to the famous Night Market. Lots of souvenirs, and local foods but about a 30minute walk that can feel a little long when you are tired or under the sun. I was exhausted and would have loved a massage but decided to wait for the last day. Took a couple of capsules of melatonine and went to sleep in my new awesome bed. Not to hard not to soft…just perfect.

I have 3 things to do in my list: Visit an elephan Camp, visit the long neck tribe Karen and the white temple….if I get to do anything else it would be a plus!

Advertisement



23rd August 2014

How about having a massage every day...
not just the last day. They are so inexpensive.
31st August 2014

yes I had a massage every time I had a change and tried bamboo massage, hot stone...and other ones...I will post photos at some point...I also got a bunch of herbal compresses and different herbal massage ointments for my masseuse in the Philippines but when I got to the Thai Post Office I learnt it is prohibited to mail them so I had to bring everything home!!!

Tot: 0.598s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 21; qc: 124; dbt: 0.3014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb