In search of Snakes...........


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 15th 2004
Published: May 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Morning all,

Yesterday was the day of the big Trek here in Chang Mai. Turned out it was
just myself and Ruth going from our place, so the mini van picked us up
first. Then it was off to pick up the other trekkers.
2 Indian ladies staying at the Imperial Hotel, a Canadian couple staying
at the Plaza Hotel, a Japanese couple & American couple staying at the Sheraton
Hotel. They had an average age of 50, and their hotels made our humble guest
house look like a shanty town.......we were defo the poor relations on the
trip!

Underterred we pressed on, and an hour later we reached our first stop which
was going to be the elephant trek. We got a young elephant who I have to
give full credit to for managing to support my considerable bulk for the
next 45 minutes.
On the way back there was a river that the other elephants went through
but our spoilt brat of a kid didn't like the look of it. I gave her a few
slaps but she wasn't budging so we had to take the road instead......stupid
Nelly.

From there it was onto the bamboo rafting. Most enjoyable indeed, about
1 hour floating down some river. I tried my best to capsize the raft a few
times but the Japenese oldies weren't too impressed so Ruth made me stop.
Got to the bottom safely and were taken by van for lunch.
It was the old reliables: boiled rice, sweet & sour veg, curried potatoes,
and veg in Soy sauce. For those who know my carniverous nature you will
know this put me out slightly. I appealed for some chicken but ended up
making do with rice and the curried potatoe followed by half a water melon.......sweet!
The fruit out here is waaaay better than at home.

Then we set off for a trek of about 45 minutes to a waterfall via a hill
tribe (The Karen People). Bit of a splish-splash at the waterfall then another
45-60 min trek to another hill tribe (The Mohn People or something).

Then home.
All in all a super day, costing only 14 euro each.

Tomorrow we are going north on a day trip to Chang Rai, Golden Triangle,
and also to see some Hot Springs, and the Long-Neck people!

BIG NEWS: In my search for the most populated motor-bike I saw a woman yesterday
with 3 kids piled on, so 4 is the new record. I have a feeling Vietnam could
produce a champion though.


Love and kisses to all.....

Phil


Advertisement



Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb