Chiang Mai #4: More Temples


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 2nd 2015
Published: February 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I had a glorious lie-in today, I woke up at 10:45, and I think I could have happily slept longer, but I had lots to see and do. I decided to head to Sunee restaurant, which I had been to a few days ago for breakfast, but when I got there it was shut. I headed to Thanin Market, which I was going to go to anyway. I wish I had had the time to discover this place earlier! In front of the market, there was a massive food court, filled with stalls. Too much choice! I walked around the outside for a bit, but all of the signs were in Thai. I entered the food court, most of the tables had menus in both English and Thai. I ordered a pork omelette from Rungnape. It was delicious. I wish I could eat these for breakfast everyday. I then headed into the market proper. I ordered a pineapple shake at a stall and enjoyed that as I walked around the market. The market was really cool, and not too busy. It was interesting seeing all the different things they sold, but unfortunately they didn't have what I wanted.

I headed into the old city. I decided to head to the east gate, Suandok Gate and enter that way, as it would take me straight to the first temple I wanted to visit. The gate was really pretty, with the lawns around it neatly manicured. There were a few backpackers lounging on the grass, chilling in the sun. The first temple I visited was Wat Pra Singh. I had briefly been in to it, a few days ago, after I had been to the Sunday Walking Market, however it was really busy, so I didn't linger. The temple was really cool, very different to the other temples I had visited. I had a look around the grounds of the temple, which were a hive of activity. There was a market set up, with loads of stalls selling all different kinds of things. I wandered around the stalls, and then headed in to look around the temple. It was pretty.

The next temple I visited was Wat Phabong, which is pretty much next door to Wat Pra Singh. Wat Phabong was pretty small and quiet. It had some cool statues and Buddhist quotes in English on signs around the grounds. Opposite the temple, there were some cool murals spray painted on the wall. I had a quick look in to Wat Srikoed, which was another small temple. It was pretty and had a big gong/drum thing. Wat Tung Yu was another small temple. The stairs to the temple were lined with golden dragons. They look so ornate, I bet if they were in the west they would look tacky.

The next temple I came across was Wat Pan Tao. This was a bigger temple and there were a lot more people around. In the grounds there were a few stalls set up, there was this funny mechanical skeleton, which kept moving its hands up and down in a praying motion. The monks were planting these like sun parasol things in the ground, which had white strips of paper hanging off them, which were fluttering in the wind. Pan Tao temple was originally located nearer to Chedi Luang, but the seventh king of Chiang Mai moved it, and dedicated it to King Maholprathet, the fifth king of Chiang Mai. This temple was really ornate and pretty.

I also visited Wat Chedi Luang. This temple was huge, I didn't realise from the outside how big it would be. I took a wander around the grounds, there was a sign in Thai commemorating the start of the new year. I wandered to the back of the complex and found all the huge statues of Buddhas, they were beautiful, so I spent a while looking at them and taking photos of them. In the centre, there is the pagoda, which was built during the reign of King Saen Mueng Ma, the seventh king of Chiang Mai, as a contribution for hi father. However, he died before its completion, so his wife took over and its construction was completed during the reign of King Sam Fang Kaen. The pagoda, also called Ku Luang, was once a square pagoda, each side of the base was 14 metres wide and it was 24 metres high. Renovations, in the 15th century, made the pagoda wider and taller. However in 1545 heavy rain and an earthquake caused the top of the pagoda to collapse. There has been some restoration and the pagoda looks impressive. I love the elephants that are on it.

By this point I was 'all templed out', so when I saw a coffee shop I headed there to take a rest. It seemed like a chain kind of place, I had an iced americano, and enjoyed the rest. I decided that I had seen enough today and it was time to have some me time. I had passed by a few different spas and had been looking at the different packages that they offered. I headed to Lila Spa, it's a chain of spas, with shops all over the city. It was set up by the former director of Chiang Mai Women's Prison to help rehabilitated prisoners find work, as they complete massage and beauty training in prison. The spa was really nice, very professional and clean. I had opted for the trekker's package, not that I had done any trekking, but it looked good. After paying I was lead through to the back and had my feet washed, there were rotten from all the walking around. Then I was given pants and a top to wear, and told to keep my underwear on. I was taken to a big room, which as filled with masseuses all working on their clients and shown a pad to lie on on the floor. I was given a cup of green tea to drink and then it was massage time. The massage was really nice, it mainly concentrated on my legs and shoulders. I only wished it had been longer. Feeling lovely and relaxed, I was shown out to the pedicure room. I felt sorry for the woman, as my toenails were thick with polish. It took her ages to remove it, she was definitely working for her money. I had also paid extra to get my heels scraped. The woman attacked my dead skin with a razor, it was fabulous, the best 100 baht I've ever spent.

I was hungry after my treatments, an as I was walking along the street, I saw a woman selling Thai fishcakes, so I bought some of those to munch on as I walked back. I passed loads of stalls set up, on the road opposite the old city. They were heaving, it is obviously a popular spot to get some dinner. I went to my usual night stalls, I didn't really fancy noodle soup this evening and decided to pig out on some fried stuff. I had seen several of these stalls about and since there was one here, I got to sample some of the things they sell. I bought a piece of fried chicken, some squid rings, and some kind of meat wrapped in a leaf. The woman on the stall was so sweet, the squid rings were 3 for 15 baht, and I only had two in my basket, she put an extra one in, and I tried to explain with English and body language that I had dropped one on the floor, her reply in Thai seemed to convey I know, its okay, have three anyway. I picked up a roti to eat too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 90, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb