Chiang Mai Sausage.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 29th 2014
Published: June 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Apparently a new cafe opens in Chiang Mai every 48 hours and the number of cafes now outnumber 7-11's (which is saying something). They love their coffee up here and do it well. Whilst there are the ubiquitous chain coffee outlets charging western prices, the number of independent barista's doing quality work far outnumber them.

There's a lot to love about Chiang Mai. It's my favourite Asian city and for me its all about the food. Bangkokians travel the 700km up to the cultural capital for weekends just so they can partake of the superb northern cuisine, such is its appeal. It is literally everywhere. One could spend their entire life in this town, doing every meal at a different eatery and only get through a fraction of what's on offer.

Chiang Mai has a winter. It's short, but nighttime temperatures can get down to single figures in the middle of it. I sometimes wonder if there's a correlation between a city that experiences cold weather and the corresponding cultural sophistication of its inhabitants. One only has to compare NYC to LA or Melbourne to Sydney to see some possible evidence that this hypothesis may be so. Apologies to my bogan friends in Sydney and LA.

But today its about the sausage. A particular sausage at a specific stall at a specific market.

Whilst the Trashedpackers sleep off their ethanol, Mango "Mug-o-rita' hangovers, I get up early and jump a Samlor. There are still a few fit old buggers hauling lazy foreigners like me around on 3 wheel bicycles. They're becoming rare in Asia as the old fellas die out. A few also remain in Phnom Penh and Rangoon and I try and enjoy the experience whenever its practical (either early in the morning or very late at night when traffic is light). It can be a tranquil glimpse back to another time. A slower time. It's quite charming and one day, like me, they'll just be a memory.

I arrive at Warorot market. This is no tourist hub and I see no other foreigners. Sai Ua is the stall I'm looking for. Its a complex warren so I employ my rudimentary Thai language skills to ask directions. I note that no-one asks me to repeat myself. Maybe my 'tone' work is getting better.

Finally I locate the Sai Ua stall. There's a queue of locals, cash in hand, waiting their turn patiently for the prize. Thoughts of the Vic Market Kronski stall come to mind. I'm up, I pay my 2-fiddy and the sausage is bagged. This mob are at the top of their game as far as herb infused sausages go. I name this sausage The Hannebery as an acknowledgement of its unique qualities, then wash it down with an iced Latte. Breaky done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb