Later Bangkok, helloooo Chiang Mai!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 9th 2005
Published: January 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sawasdee Krup!

I've learned a few new things on this trip already.

1. What heat rash feels like
2. That everyone's a scam artist

Wow. Three days in 38 degrees celcius -- in a dirty rotten polluted city -- is quite enough for me. I've developed this lovely and itchy heat rash (I am HOPING that's what it is) from being soaking wet (from humidity) the entire time I've been in BKK. My hair is COMPLETELY out of control. I now understand why people in hot countries get dreads. It happens involuntarily!

I've never experienced heat and humidity like this. I can't sleep, I can't eat... (been living off of fruit shakes -- blended mango, pineapple, papaya!) Never thought I'd crave that cold NS ocean breeze...

That being said, I am now in Chiang Mai -- 700 km NW of BKK. I met my tour group two nights ago. There are 4 Aussies, 3 Brits, 2 Irish (from Gallway, PJ) 1 German, 1 New Yorker and me, the lone Canuck. Our leader's name is Tommy. He's a local -- and he's great. We're like the United Nations riding around in the back of a pick up truck. No lie. That's been our transportatin around this little town today!

The first night we met, we went out for dinner and then to the famous Patong road. What we saw there is completely unacceptable and inappropriate for this G-rated journal. (Adults, if ya really wanna know -- and you're NOT on a work computer, google it).

ANYWAY, we hopped on the overnight train to Chiang Mai last night -- Mel as soon as I walked into the train station, Europe memories came flooding back! It was awesome! They don't have that same little 'ding dong dinnnnng' though... and they're not nearly as nice as the super speed trains that we loved. 😊 However, it was air conditioned and I had the BEST sleep in a week! I love sleeping on trains. I certainly do not love Asian squat toilets though... (ANOTHER story for another time).

We arrived this morning, and my heavens, 34 degrees never felt soooo good! There's a lovely little breeze and less humidity. It's absolutely stunning here - Chiang Mai is surrounded by a moat. In the distance, there are mountains.

Tomorrow morning, we're heading into those mountains on a hilltribe trek. We'll be gone for 4 days, and we're only allowed to bring one small day pack. There are strict rules for this trek: no rings, necklaces, watches... must cover shoulders and knees at all times, and women have to swim/bath in the river clothed. I'm still not certain how I'll pull that one off, but heck... this is all a learning experience, right? This is what I wanted, right??? I don't dare ask what the toilet facilities are -- but I can't imagine what could be worse than a squatter.
Details (or maybe not) at another time.

Yesterday, I got a little taste of home... My friend Nick is on his last few days of his Asian adventure and returned to BKK to catch his flight out tomorrow. We met for sushi. He shared his stories and advice. It was really great.

So back to lesson number two, mentioned earlier: everyone's a scam artist.
I'm becoming much 'tougher.' On my first few days, I'd pay what people would ask for. Now I bargain, and never give more than half of what they ask for originally. Example: same cab ride my first day cost me 9 dollars. The second day, 6 dollars. Now, I've got it down to 2-3. You just have to barter and walk away. They'll cave.

Today, we went on a little tour of handicraft places... They made it sound like we were going to see all the beautiful local hand craft places. Well duhhhh, in Thailand, that's basically sweatshops, where locals get paid pennies to make all that junk people buy in dollar stores. They'd take us through the work area, then into the shops to buy the crap.... (Silk, jewellry, parasols, junk....) It was really sad and I felt like we and those who organized it were totally exploiting the poor locals. It was sorta like the Burnside Industrial Park, Thai style. After a few stops, Keith, an australian guy who was on the same page as me, bailed on the tour and hopped on a pick-up truck / taxi bus back to our hotel. He's gone to get a 3 dollar/hour massage, and I came to this little internet cafe to update y'all. (I'm picking up a variety of new accents and expressions by the way.)

Hey dad, ever heard of 'flat out as a lizard drinking?!' You'd get a kick out of the different characters I'm meeting.

As for the other scams, the little tuk tuk drivers (three wheeled motorcycle taxi drivers) tell you they'll take you touring around BKK for an hour for just 15 cents... which sounds great... but then they take you to one landmark, and then to gem shops and tailor shops (where they get commission to bring dumb westerners). A few folks on the tour actually ended up ordering gems -- thinking they could sell them back home for twice the price. Others had tailor-made shirts and suits. Our tour guide doubts they'll ever get sent back home.

Last night on the train, the conductors would bring us beer, and then get us to open it (so we had to pay for it) and then they'd drink it... I wasn't buying it, so I didn't get caught.

Anyway... I'm learning. I've not been scammed too badly -- just the taxi cost. And once i figured out what the tuk tuk driver was doing --taking me to the tailor and gem shops, I demanded he take me back -- and that was that. Thank you for the advice, Lonely Planet.

Drinking water in Thailand has to be purchased. A 2L bottle is about 75 cents. At the rate I'm drinking it, I'm going to go broke.

Mel, they have pizza flavored chips. Thought of you.

Had banana pancakes for breakfast. Came with rice. Everything comes with rice. Even rice.

Not rice again!!! 😊

Tim, thanks for your note, but no success yet. I'll keep looking. 😊

Pictures to come next time... I'M GOING ELEPHANT RIDING!!!

XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX



Advertisement



13th May 2005

wow
Kelly, thanks for the updates. The pictures and stories are wonderful. Be safe and be happy. And always remember wht Yogi Berra said: "When you come to a fork in the road, take it." - Phil & Linda

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb