Last day at elephant nature park


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 9th 2014
Published: February 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning I was lucky enough to have Jodi take me on another elephant walk with just me and mellisa (my room mate) It was so great really Learning about the elephant. Families, and the different personalities. We got to just hang, and observe and take pictures it was AWESOME! Totally everything I would have hoped for! I will be sad to leave tomorrow. Later in the afternoon we were all working on the "firebreak" to create a border around the park in case fires start in the mountains. Basically we were picking up dryer leaves and such off the side of the road. Then we were all given an orange sash and we were sent to tie it on a tree, and make a wish. The reason that you tie the orange sash around the tree is that Thai people would never cut it down (because its been blessed by the monks (the orange sash) so I tied my sash, and made my wish.When we returned a bunch of us were able to get a ride about 10 minutes up the road with inner tubes and we drifted down the river past Thai men with their bamboo rafts, and they would splash us and laugh. We cruised along and ended up back at the park. It was a great last day activity. They are planning a ceremony and special dinner for us tonight. -they made a special dinner for us and set it up on short tables the you kneeled at. While we were dining the children from the school we visited came and did traditional dancing. They were all soo cute, we all enjoyed it very much. There was partyingaye into the night for most (lots of Chang beer and rum) although it gets very cold at night so I have to go to bed, I am just not very hardy when it comes to temperature, but looking at the groups of partygoers while picking up elephant poo... I am quite glad that I went to bed! We are all getting ready to end our week, some are coming back next week. My room mate mellisa is spending the night in Chaing Mai with me tonight so it will be fun to have someone to hang with!I got to spend some time alone watching one of the elephant hanging out at the river, so peaceful. So happy I got
Saying goodbyeSaying goodbyeSaying goodbye

Hanging out saying goodbye
to be here this week.

Advertisement



9th February 2014

Elles
Talked to Dave this morning. He's doing fine but misses you. Can't wait to hear about the rest of your adventure! Baking Valentines cookies for the college girls

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb