A day of unexpected adventure


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 1st 2014
Published: February 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

imageimageimage

After my ten year younger facial
Finally got a great nights sleep last night, hurray! Woke up in time to have breakfast and rush off to the spa lady who promised me I would look 10 years tougher with the facial she was going to give me. It was hot, it was cold, it was scratchy and smooth, smelled good and a little not so good. In the end ten years younger might be a stretch, but maybe a couple of years.

I decided today is the day I venture out and enlisted the young guy at the redemption desk to help me make an exit stradegy. "ok, go here cost 200 bhat then go here 100 baht, "ill call you a red truck" he said. So I pulled on my big girl pants and grabbed my camera and went to wait for my red truck. Then this adorable French (living in Hong Kong) family I had seen at breakfast getting go to there red truck said "would you like to join us" HEll YEAH I do,(truth be told I probobly looked pitiful standing there alone with my camera dangling from my neck) Emanuel and Karen and there three little girls 12,9 and 7 saved me!
imageimageimage

Temple
We walked the city streets for about 7 hours, I did not eat the deep fried grasshoppers or the dried grubs. ( those little girls were tough!) refueling a couple of times so the little ontrident fade away. We walked through the Saturday market where you could buy all sorts of crafts, and there oldest daughter steered me away from several bad purchases and was helping me figure out real from fake stuff. the smells of the city were much like my facial, the good the bad the rough and smooth. Emanuel found a highly recommended restaurant that we dined alfresco on delicious Thia food under big red paper umbrellas, and white lights hanging from the trees. It was just lovely!

Tomorrow morning bright and early I am being picked up and am going to an organtic farm for Thai cooking class. I believe there is a train and a bike and a market involved.... More to follow


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

imageimage
image

At the terra cotta garden


1st February 2014

Wonderful
This is wonderful - I can almost smell it! Try not to eas too many grubs! Cant wait to hear about the cooking classes. Love the terra cotta garden pic. Thinking of you and so glad you are following your dream Mom
1st February 2014

Thanks for all the notes, they help me stay brave and adventurous (even is brave for on day is hanging out with a strange French family!
1st February 2014

Hey Jen! That sounds really great! I cant wait to see the slide show of the whole trip once your home! Stay present and enjoy every moment! Even the fried grasshoppers! I miss you Friend!!!!
1st February 2014

Sounds like a wonderful day! Keep the notes coming, so much fun to read

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb