Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 7th 2010
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

FINALLY OUT OF BANGKOK.
Holy hell that place is a shithole. Full of thai scammers, stinky streets, and drunk tourists. I think I saw about 10 white people on crutches when we stayed on Khaosan Rd. I can imagine because they'd get so shitfaced and somehow hurt themselves. Because it seems like every tourist on that block was getting wasted until 5am. Luckily we were still adjusting to the time change and fell asleep by 8pm every night.

Anywho, we took a train up north to Chiang Mai. a 15 hour train ride. Sounds horrible, but luckily we got a sleeper car and left at night, so we were able to sleep most of the way. Much more beautiful up here... Everything is so green and tropical. We rented mopeds the other day and drove them up to Doi Suthep. Pretty temple, pretty mountain. The temple was pretty cool, but the part I enjoyed the most was zooming up the mountain on our mopeds and exploring random roads through the forests. We found this amazing view spot of the surrounding mountains and this tiny little Hmong village right at the base. I can't believe how cheap it is to rent mopeds (200 baht for 24 hours). It's pretty awesome though too because of the lack of enforced traffic laws... it seems like the only place i've been to where it's encouraged to drive like a complete asshole. In fact, it's either drive like a psycho or die. These people are ruthless. It's way fun though.

Yesterday was our 'chill day.' Hung around the hostel and tried to figure out our next move. We're slowly making our way to Laos.. but I think we decided on stopping in Chiang Rai for a couple of nights... realizing we already went through the bulk of Thailand and we still have 5 and a half weeks left of adventuring. We also went and got foot massages in town. Or should I say a Hitler massage. My lady kept punching me in my calves and using a wooden stick to jab me in my feet. I can't say it was the most sensual experience. Are you suppose to be sore after a massage?

Anyways, onto our next location!

Oh and ps, I've been learning new terms from various backpackers from around the world and will be inflicting them into American culture, such as "that's so jokes" etc. So, WATCH OUT!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



7th July 2010

I love it!!!!!!!
It is so nice, to know you girls are ok, so cool for us to be able to see the trip through your eyes ( your pics), and have the comments to learn from the places..
1st August 2010

.
Oh and ps, I've been learning new terms from various backpackers from around the world and will be inflicting them into American culture, such Train Train as "that's so jokes" etc. So, WATCH OUT! americans don't have a culture..they only steal..

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb