Day 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Here we go Here we go Here we go

Into old city of Chiang Mai
Matt picked me up in Thailands second city Chiang Mai had heard about the snow and was not surprised to see I had fought my out of the blizzards England...... all Brits have a bit of Oates in them when it comes to artic weather.

I was wisked slowly in noisy tuk-tuk to The River Ping, with great excitment to see the many stars hotel he had booked...... I need to explain the Galare Hotel web detais I will not be suppling...if it had half a star I would be very very generous but then at £13 a night for two I am under budget for now. The hotel has a excellent vista over The Ping only interrupted by the mozzys and tropical rain.

Yes this is mini Bangkok maybe less busy sort of as London is to Manchester.

Headed out for a bite and night bazaar (market to us) and as expected they had all the usual quality Thai copies, but that does not matter because Matt wants to show me real people and places so we had drinks and nibbles in little side streets ( called a soi ) . Yes,well, what can I say, there is no doubt I am lossing my appitite fast but these loverly people who smile, put their hands together , lower their head as I hand their dish back gently, continue to smile ...mind you the beer is good, need it in this heat.

Matt has a grasp of Thai which is great to hear as all 6ft 3 towers over them, fotunately English is spoken widley up here mainly because of America and tourism. Tomrrow we leave for the Burma /Thai borrder in our big 4 wheel delivered to the hotel and we are off to find that real Thailand and Burma think I am in for a real lesson in life Matt has told me much more about what he does, very humbling and desperatly real.

But before that we have dinner with someone from Burma - a future leader matt reckons

Pictures are a practice

Chok dee (thats good luck) think I need it

Ant


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Going to the dogsGoing to the dogs
Going to the dogs

You should see the rich ones


9th January 2010

Hi Ant - keep it up. A great blog. Looks really interesting Simon

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb