M n M - keep reading to find out why


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
May 14th 2009
Published: May 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

thailandthailandthailand

Yesterday I decided to get out of town so I went to a little town nearby called Lamphun. I had a few opportunities for some good environmental people shots but all of them turned out soft (read - out of focus) So on my way back to Chaing Mai we passed by a wat and I saw a monk wearing an interesting straw hat which I thought might make for an interesting picture. Well I was just going to let it go but then somebody hit the buzzer for the drive to stop and I thought it must be an omen so I got out and walked about one or two Ks back to the wat where I had seen the monk. oh, this is a photo of the road I was on
I thought I better get out a quick "blog" to let everyone know what I am up to especially since I am a bit far behind on my emails (I thought a blog would get me a bit more up to date). Yesterday reality set in. I will explain what I mean via the captions in the first few photos.

So, you may be wondering what i am up to - I am also wondering. I left Vietnam at the end of March and traveled back to Thailand via Laos. Laos was a relaxing experience after Vietnam. No damn horns honking all the time and no constant battle trying to get an "honest" price (whatever that means). In Laos they are up front - For some transportation they will post the prices; one for foreigner and one for locals - ok, no problem. In Vietnam at times it feels like whatever they can extract from your wallet they will. Just today i took a local "bus" in Thailand and I didn't have to even ask the price before I got on it knowing that I would be charged the same price as a local. But I do miss the people
thailand-2thailand-2thailand-2

As I walked into the wat grounds this girl gave me a nice wave (photo out of focus)
of Sapa - as usual I've digressed.

So what have I been doing? Nothing really, just taking photos, enjoying Thai food and hitting the gym. I have several thousands of photos that I need to go through and maybe in a later blog I will include some of them. Right now this trip is looking like all I am photographing is minorities and monks (thus the title - M n M). For this blog I just grabbed a bunch of photos that I took in the last two days as well as a few from before that. The purpose of this trip was not to travel (and I really haven't) but to try and "earn" a living day trading - well I have fired myself from that job and now I need to find a source of income and am not looking forward to going back to the US and trying to find a job in the current economic situation especially given the fact that I have really been out of the "real" work world for, oops - 15 years. I guess I better learn how to say, "would you like to super size your order today?".

thailand-3thailand-3thailand-3

this is the monk I saw which made me decide to go back (photo out of focus)

hmmm - I just saw a few more comments that some of you left on my last blog - thanks for the kind words on my photographs. Now I feel "obligated" to dig a little deeper into what I shot and post some "more" shots. I just realized that I had already put over a 100 photos in this blog so I will only add a few more which means I will be sending out another blog shortly - maybe after I call the airlines and change my flight back to the states. ok, this is taking longer than expected, time to grab some shut eye.

I just woke up and now I realized that I haven't posted any shots of Laos. I really didn't take too many shots while I was there. Let me rephrase that, I only shot on a couple of days that I was there and when I did shoot - I shot a lot. I spent two days on the Mekong river and shot over a thousand photographs. Most of the pictures were of life on the river - men and boys fishing and women "panning" for gold. I also photographed a few monks
thailand-7thailand-7thailand-7

then I saw this Monk (photo out of focus)
- keeping with the M n M title of this blog. Back in Luang Prabang I shot two days of morning Alms which starts at 6AM and lasts about 15 - 20 minutes.

Well that about wraps it up - hope all is well and I hope all are surving the economic financial tsunami (it isn't over by a long shot).

Cheers,

Dave / David / Yogi

ps check out this video - it kind of sums things up: Be Informed





Additional photos below
Photos: 217, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

thailand-4thailand-4
thailand-4

Next I discovered what was in those white bags that the previous monk had on his cart
thailand-5thailand-5
thailand-5

I couldn't let the Monk unload all those tiles by himself so I helped unload the bags (I didn't unload all these)
thailand-6thailand-6
thailand-6

I also helped stack the tiles
thailand-8thailand-8
thailand-8

notice the monk is happier now. or maybe he had this little "smirk" because it was the last batch and the boys loaded up a bag that was able double the weight of the average bags (no wonder my back is killing me).
thailand-9thailand-9
thailand-9

my new friend and I share a kodak moment together
thailand-10thailand-10
thailand-10

what does any of this have to do with me finding a job? well if i have to find a job that does manual labor - I am screwed (lazy American)
thailand-114thailand-114
thailand-114

another out of focus shot from yesterday - this is one where I wished I could say "do over"


Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb