Buddhists and Prisoners


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
February 18th 2009
Published: February 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MasksMasksMasks

Masks outside Doi Suthep
Today we headed up to Wat Prathat Doi Suthep in a red song thaews (you ride in the back of a small pick-up truck and inhale the massive exhaust fumes). Doi Suthep is a holy Buddhist temple up on a mountain overlooking Chiang Mai and dates back to the 1300s. We walked the 305 steps to the top, where we checked out all the Buddhas and bells. I have a fascination with the all of the monks, so when I saw an ancient looking monk in one of the temples, I knew we had to go in there and get “blessed.” We saw some other white folk in there, so figured we were good to go as long as we kneeled like everyone else. We got in line in front of the monk to get our string tied around our wrist, and listen to our prayer when I hear this man clearing his throat, grunting and pointing at me. I thought it was that I was not down on my knees low enough, so sat further down. Nope…(more grunts) he wanted me to get away from the monk and go over to him to get my string/prayer. Boo. I wanted it
Doi Suthep TempleDoi Suthep TempleDoi Suthep Temple

Here we are at the temple
from the monk. Oh well. Not sure exactly why we couldn’t get it from monk, but maybe either because we are women or not Buddhists or just plain stupid? We learned later that we wear the string for one week for good luck. Fingers crossed…especially with all the upcoming planes involved, we need the luck!

After the temple, we took a red song over to Whole Earth for lunch. Thanks Kiera - great place! Loved the tree house the restaurant was in. We had a delicious Indian Thai lunch and although your recommended leche ice cream was out of season, we shared a terrific fresh coconut scoop. YUM! Then we headed over to the day market where we cruised through all the random shops and stalls, and landed in a typical Thai grocery store. WOW! Some of that food I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole. IE: dried crusty fish with flies landing all over it, fried cockroaches and every type of curry paste imaginable (fly infested, as well). However, it was quite interesting talking to all of the shop keepers…they tried their best to sell us westerners their freaky goods. It seemed to be a game for
Diane at Doi SuthepDiane at Doi SuthepDiane at Doi Suthep

Diane the Buddhist wanna-be
them. We got off with some Thai tea and cheap saffron. A safe bet.

After a full day of temples and shopping, we desperately NEEDED another Thai massage! Our guest house manager, Nine (we love her and think she’s a TEN), had us go to a place where women prisoners give really great Thai massages. Many are either just out of prison, or are released from prison in the night hours and weekends to work. We decided why not?, sounds cheap and good enough! Oh yeah! They did know how to give a massage. However, half way through when they left for a minute I turned to Diane and told her I totally want to ask them what they did. She said well at least wait until AFTER the massage or they will be like (insert Diane’s voice here)…“I’LL SHOW YOU!” and then they would beat us, kill us and chop us up into little pieces. So when they came back in and continued the massage, my vivid imagination kept wandering and I could just picture asking them why they went to prison and them busting out some Muay Thai moves and hanging us from the ceiling and beating
Buddhist bellsBuddhist bellsBuddhist bells

Doi Suthep bells...ring to forgive you of your sins.
the crap out of us. I totally got the giggles and COULD NOT STOP!!! I didn’t want to be rude and have them think I was laughing at them, so I said “IT TICKLES!” I am sure they were completely confused because they were beating the living hell out of us and no human being on the face of this earth would find that ticklish! I had to think dark thoughts to make my giggles stop. Anyway, we now feel we need daily massages…by prisoners or not, we don’t care.

Tomorrow is Bye Bye Chiang Mai, Good Morning Vietnam. Until then…adios! ~ B & D


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

BuddahliciousBuddahlicious
Buddahlicious

Fat ones, skinny ones, laying down ones...Buddahs come in all kinds of shapes and sizes!
Whole EarthWhole Earth
Whole Earth

The tastiest lunch and ice cream ever! :) Love the tree house.
Fish anyone?Fish anyone?
Fish anyone?

I don't see this tasting good. Fresh fish, please.
Dried shrimp anyone?Dried shrimp anyone?
Dried shrimp anyone?

First of all, I hate shrimp...so I could only imagine dried crusty critters. ew.


18th February 2009

I am enjoying all your stories!
How much are the massages???
18th February 2009

fabulous
Your photos and commentary are terrific -- you should be a photojournalist.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb