Buses, Trains, and Automobiles


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 6th 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Partying on the Night TrainPartying on the Night TrainPartying on the Night Train

That should be the title to a hit song...
The trek back to Bangkok begins - luckily we had a few hours in Chiang Mai to get a break between modes of transportation. First, we took those trucks with seats in the back to the bus station in Chiang Rai, then hopped on a MUCH tamer bus back to Chiang Mai. No pukers this time - yeah!!!! :-)

We had 4 hours in Chiang Mai to do whatever we wanted - and of course, I took that time to back up my digital photos on a disk and get a massage! I went to the same woman who massaged me earlier in the week. I tipped her very well, so she was VERY happy to see me. Other than at Wat Pho, her massage was definitely the best. Actually, I would say Wat Pho and Mae are tied for the best. We talked for about 20 minutes after the massage and I learned her whole life story and now have a place to stay in Chiang Mai anytime I go there. We exchanged emails and she offered me a ride to the train station that night - she was very nice.

After the massage, I was happy to just relax back at our guesthouse until it was time to go the the train station. So I ordered some noodles and a few beers and relaxed for an hour or so. Once on the train, about half of our group decided to let loose a bit - I think this is the first time on the whole trip we actually did something that resembled partying! We had the train attendants drinking with us and then wandered down to the discotheque that was on the train. All it really was, was the dining car with a DJ, but it was fun nonetheless. The only down side, it closed at 10pm! That's an early bed time, but probably a good idea anyway.

Once in my sleeper car bunk, for the first time on this entire trip, I was beginning to want my own bed, consistent hot showers, real toilets, my dog, and a huge pepperoni pizza. As I fell asleep, Although I love Thailand and wouldn't mind staying longer, I decided that this trip was just the right amount of days - only one day and 19 hours of air travel left!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb