Catching Up on the Blog


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 20th 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is my last day in Chiang Mai... yesterday (friday) we did a full day cooking class which was lots of fun-- we made Green Curry, Spring Rolls, sticky rice with mango, and pad thai. All yummy 😉 The class was neat b/c we each had our own wok over a gas stove, and the classroom was outdoors. There were 7 of us in the class which was a perfect size!

I am completely in love with the weather here. It's warm in the daytime, the temperature rivght now, at 1:30 pm is about 77 F and at night it will cool down, but still only cool enough to yield a long sleeve shirt. I've also gotten a taste of traveling alone a bit. After the cooking class we were dropped off at a Airport Center Mall and I walked around solo. It was funny, but I ended up getting bored with shopping and wound up at an internet cafe to try to back up my pictures. A few minutes after I arrived, the two Canadians from my group showed up. We ended up deciding to go see a movie-- Twilight. (I voted to go see Ong Bak2 but lost the vote!) It's neat, instead of previews they have a short film all about the king. Everyone in the audience stands and are respectful. The movie was great, btw.

Afterwards I roamed the night markets but didn't want any more stuff to carry... started to return to the hotel and found the UK couple eating at a restaurant (all restaurants are open air and similar to Mexico) I spent the evening with them, and had some Chiang Mai curry chicken. Delicious! Am eating heaps of coconut milk here though!!!

This morning I had a fried egg and rice, and then grabbed a songtheaw to a nice jewlery factory/store. It was a nice, quality, indoor type place, and I bought a few souviner's there! Silver is the big thing in Chiang Mai.

The computers here are INSANELY slow, and the travel blog site is pretty useless for photos. I'm posting my photos on Flickr instead, which uploads a photo in 2-3 minutes instead of 15. Ha!

Hope everyone is doing well!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb