Massage School


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 9th 2006
Published: January 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sawatee kaaa everyone!

I found out about this travel blog site, and think its a better way to get these letters out to everyone, plus i can add photos maps, etc. Hope you all enjoy it!

Soo, here I am in lovely Chiang Mai, and i completed my first day of massage school today. I am feeling very happy here.. its an adorable small city, and I feel very at home here. I've met lots of interesting people here, as I thought I would once I started massage school. Its interesting, because when I was in the south, I saw almost no other Americans, but up here there are many, especially in massage school.

I am staying at a little guest house called the Libra for 150 baht a night (3.75!). Every morning, the school sends its truck taxi all over town to pick up students and drive us up there, as its a bit North out of town. My class has 8 students and two very young Thai women teachers.

There are actually quite a few schools in chaing Mai, and I had to decide which to go to. I'm thinking that I may do one this week, and try a different one next week. I'm getting excited to really learn Thai massage and incorporate it into my practice. This of course will mean mandatory trips to Thailand periodically to further my education. I guess I can handle that! Thai massage is a wonderful mix of pressure points and energy lines, much like Chinese medicine, and assisted stretches, much like yoga. Its a great form for practitioner as well as client, and there is a big revival here to restore the traditional forms of Thai massage from antiquity.

I like the North of Thailand much more than the south. The train ride up from Bangkok was wonderful (when I wasn't sleeping on my sleeper shelf/bunk). The windows are huge and open all the way up, and many were hanging out looking at the scenery, so I joined in. A far cry from the safety obsessed US! But it really felt like being in the jungle that we were passing through, and the benefit of the train is that you are off in the wilderness away from roads. I plan to take the day train back to Bangkok in two weeks so that I can see all the scenery I missed while sleeping.

I sat next a delightful Thai couple, though they were far the minority in the sleeper section which was almost exclusively tourists. i felt lucky, and we smiled, mimed, took each others pictures, etc. I'll try to upload those next time I write.

Chaing Mai is the craft capital of the country, and last night there was teh Sunday market, which was filled with so many crafts it was amazing, and all for one or two dollars, with the expensive things being 5 or 6. There is a whole Northern style of craft, much from the hill tribes, but also a strong Burmese influence from the years when Burma was in control of the city (back in the 1500's). It was the kind of market where you're supposed to bargain, which I hate, and I stink at it. I felt like the prices were already so ridiculously low, it was hard to bargain it down. But, I played the game, and got a few baht reduced.

What I love about Thailand is the indoor outdoor overlap of everything. Restaurants and even houses have a thin line between what is indoor and what is out. Often a roof over head with no walls means you're in. There's so much happening in the streets; vendors, motor bikes, outdoor cafes. At the market, the food section was a blast. There were little tables set up in a square packed togtether surrounded by a buffet style vending scene. I went from one booth to the next trying strange things like bannana leaves filled with a variety of dumplings, vegetables, etc, then found a seat at the tables on the ground (squeezed in!) and ate with a cacaphony of chatter around me. Other spots at the market were outdoor massage, where people are just lined up in chairs while they get their feet rubbed. I took some pictures of this, because it is hard to believe, and will try to upload those too next time. Massage is everywhere, and so cheap. I've only gotten one food massage so far, believe it or not, but the recommendation for being in school is to get one a day to learn the mode as a body memory. I hate to do it, but I guess I'm going to have to follow that recommendation. Darn. I'll let you all know how awful it is.

Well, I'm going to head to bed, since I have to be up bright and early for school. I'll write again when I can. I've so enjoyed hearing from everyone at home..

Love,
Suzanne

Advertisement



10th January 2006

Thanks for doing this
Suzanne, I love to wake up to your blog. It brings back wonderful memories of our travels in Thailand and is a great momentary escape from the rain and the routine that I am in right now. Much love to you.
10th January 2006

Cool
I love reading your blog. I feel so hip and cool. (And a bit jealous, of course.) All is well here. Love, Ilana
11th January 2006

Fabulous
It was wonderful to hear about all that you have seen. I hope that what you are writing is being stored so you will have it when you get back. Waiting to hear more from you JoAnn
12th January 2006

Wow
It all sounds so wonderful and colorful and interesting. Thanks for taking the time to write, as I love hearing about your adventure as it is happening!
13th January 2006

Dear Suzanne---I finally figured out how to get your blog (don't forget that I'm still in the technologically impaired generation) and it's simply wonderful. It makes me feel like I'm there myself--feeling the air and smelling the smells. However, the same does not apply to the massage, so you'll have to give me a demonstration when you get home. love, mom
2nd February 2006

synchronicity
Hi Suzanneleh. We don't know each other but I found your journal entries while looking for something else entirely. They are wonderful and entertaining, even to a total stranger. I happen to be a massage therapist in Sedona, AZ. Enjoy your teachings and travels! Peace, Marah
15th February 2006

Hey
Hey goodto c u on web..

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb