Thailand at last


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
July 10th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Houaxay to Chiang Mai


Chiang Mai templeChiang Mai templeChiang Mai temple

Plenty of these in Thailand.
Took a narrow longboat, tippy as a racing shell and not much wider, across the river to Thailand, then bus to Chiang Mai. Some people speak highly of this place but I didn't find anything remarkable about it. It has a nicely walled old city surrounded by a kind of moat that has fountains in it, so it's pleasant enough to look at. The traffic is fast and dense here, so you have to skip quickly to get across some streets. They have a good night market and not everything that's for sale is junky or trashy. I enjoyed walking amidst all the people and looking at all the stuff.

And, of course, it's Thai food that you're eating so that's always a bonus. But I just couldn't get a feel for this place and found myself just hanging around aimlessly. I thought that if I'm going to do that, I'd be better off on a beach, so after a couple of days I grabbed a cheap flight down to Bangkok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb