Working with the Elephants


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 7th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After my visit to the Elephant Nature Park(ENP) in December last year, I had promised myself I would go back and work as a volunteer. So here I was arriving day 1 in the Chiang Mai office, being handed my volunteer T-shirt and setting off for the park. I was looking forward to what I knew would be a truly fulfilling experience and if I'm honest, liking the idea of staying in one spot for more than a few days, in fact, for 2 whole weeks.

The ENP was the brain child of a Thai lady called Lek. She has made it her life ambition to save as many of these beautiful beasts from their lives of hardship and pain in the tourist industry. What an inspiration she has been.

The ENP oozed peace and tranquility, well that was when the elephants were not running around trumpeting their heads off, chasing each other, chasing the tractor or generally being mischievous big buggers. To see a baby elephant chasing the tractor all over the park with his mahout (his man companion) desperately trying to keep up with him, is a memory that will never cease to make me smile.

Volunteers at the park get fully involved in the daily routine, be it preparing the elephant food, washing the elephants, picking up the copious quantities of pooh they produce, mucking out the buffalo sheds, building fences, digging trenches and probably the best excuse in the world for having a mud fight, clearing out the mud pits. A very smelly, but highly entertaining, way to spend the afternoon.

I don't think I can even try to explain the effect of the ENP on you. I may have done serious hard labour, with early starts and back breaking work, but I walked away from the Park totally chilled, rested and relaxed. A tonic for the soul.

I wouldn't hesitate for a second to go back. There are many who return year after year for their holidays and some who even stay for life.

I hope you enjoy the photos of some of these gorgeous, majestic beasts.







Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb