Day 6 - Doi Inthanon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
November 19th 2007
Published: November 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Doi Inthanon SummitDoi Inthanon SummitDoi Inthanon Summit

At that moment in time, I was the highest woman in Thailand!!!
Woke up early for a trip to Doi Inthanon. Tour group picked me up right on time, good start!
Doi means Mountain.

Doi Inthanon is the highest mountain in Thailand and marks this with a sign. Great for us tourists who want to be the highest person at the time lol
Yes I caved in and took an offer to get my pic taken - o.k o.k.. I know I'll get ribbed over there when I get home, but heck I AM A TOURIST!! 😉

The mountain was formerly known at Doi Angka but was renamed in 1899 after the last sovereign, King Inthawichayanon.
King Inthawichayanon was very concerned about the forests in the northern hill country and the study of rain forest hydrology was started. This gave way to a Thai folklore, which describes the hill region as the home of the Phiphannan, the 'spirit who shares water'.
Just before the king died near the turn of the century, he commanded that his remains be placed at the top of this mountain; his ashes at the summit stupa are visited by thousands of people each year.

The park covers an area of 48,240 ha. Its lowlands below 800 meters in elevation are warm and very dry during the rain-free season, but the summit of Doi Inthanon, at 2565 meters, has a climate more like Canada than Thailand. The temperature has been known to drop as low as -8 degrees C. and frosts are not unusual during the cool, dry season. January is the coldest month: an average night time temperature is 5.5 degrees C. May Thais flock to Doi Inthanon to get reprieve from the heat of the lowlands. At altitudes above 1000 meters, rainfall exceeds 2500 mm, considerably more than at nearby Chiang Mai. Even in the dry season, November to April, there is rare but occasional rain or the summit may be shrouded in cloud for a part of the day; persistent mist is an important factor in the maintenance of moist forest there. On the day I was here, it was shrouded in mist and fog. Was a very eerie feeling, but allowed some awesome shots that I hope came out.

The trip from Chiang Mai takes approximately 1.5 hours.
We visited the Vachiratharn Waterfall on the way to the top. Gorgeous waterfall and was a good start to the day.

After
summit stupa summit stupa summit stupa

Where the Kings ashes are buried
the visit to the top, we came back down the mountain slowly and visited the King and Queen Chedi. Absolutely spectacular!! The painting, stone carvings inside are unbelievable!! I hope the photos do it justice!!!

On the way back, we stopped at a major food stall where all the tour operators seem to stop for a feed. Food was good; of the dishes I could eat I thought they were good.

Second last stop of the day was the kings’ project. Some beautiful gardens, with winding paths that leads up to another waterfall.
Last stop was to the 'white' Karen Village. I didn't actually like this, I felt it was very imposing and rude. You just drive up to their village and roam around.
Walking around their houses, crops etc. Although on the other hand, they make their money from the tourist who visit. They have their own little workshop/store where you can view how they make their textiles.
The blankets and throws you could purchase were truely beautfiful. I had left all my money at the guesthouse, probably a good thing as as they weigh a lot!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Coffee house at the summitCoffee house at the summit
Coffee house at the summit

Best hot chocolate I think I've had in a VERY long time!!


25th November 2007

Awesome
Fantastic pics Lorree. It seems that you are really getting the hang of this tourist stuff! Keep blogging so we can experience it too. It's great to be on this side of the blog, rather than writing one ! Di xx
25th November 2007

WOW loved it !!
good to see your seeing the country Lorree......the pics are terrific....keep it up....i really look forward to reading your blog and following your travels......i wish i was with you !! can't wait for the next one.
25th November 2007

Elephant statues
Usually I am not a fan of garden statues as they look so unnatural 0 but the ones you took of the elephants are SOOOO CUTE!!
27th November 2007

Go Lorree
I am so happy for you that you are enjoying yourself so much. How are you managing the currency and language? I am so enjoying your blog entries, I check in each morning. Just 4 weeks before I leave , keep having fun. x
30th November 2007

Hey Mum
I need to learn more about my camera so I can take better ones! Have over 300 pics so far, so we will go through them all when I get home. Which is coming around faster than I had hoped! Miss ya....love ya Big hugs to Holly!!
30th November 2007

Possumbear
Currency is no problem. I've stuffed up once so far... I handed over a 1000baht note when I meant to hand over a 100baht note. I only got the change back as if I had given a 100 though - which left me short in paying for a day trip I had gone on - a tad embarrassing!! You will have a blast over here! My biggest tip for you, is to print off any location maps that your accommodation may have on their website. They often have the directions in Thai along with an actual map - this will save you heaps of grief, trust me!!
4th December 2007

Wow you wore a jumper!!!
Didn't realise it can get cold in some parts. Not sure what i would have done. You look so happy!!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb