Moving on North- Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong, Luang Pebang.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
August 10th 2005
Published: August 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hullo all,

It appears that my last journal entry did not make it into the real world so will have another go!..The connections out here are some what different to what I am used to!..Currently in Luang Pubang which is governed by satelite..very good connection!

After leaving Bangkok, we headed to Chiang Rai for a couple of days.
This town was very beautiful, wide spread..after spending 12 hours on a bus all night!..we finally made it during the day of which I crashed big time!
After recovery mode we jumped on a tuk tuk which took us through Chiang Mai to see some big factories and local tourist sites.
We firtst started off at the Elephant village where we were amazed with the level of co-ordination the elephants produced.
We sat on the benches whilst they played soccer, painted, performed numerous tricks and then went to the crowds for a feed!..as you would!
They were such big friendly giants!..they were so well looked after it, it pleased me.
After this we went to a butterfly village which grew a big nursery of Orchids..they were amazing..and I am not a garden person!
The colors and shaped just blew me away..
We ventured into a butterfly cave where they had numerous species of butterfly's, cocoons etc..
one was the size of my hand!
After this we went to a Monkey show which was quite sad.
The monkeys were all chained and then brought out to perform for the tourist..
Really sad to watch and was happy to leave.

For the rest of the day we went to a Silk factory, seeing how the Thai silk was made from cocoon to finished product..so amazing..the Thai people work so hard I feel guilty!

Because we went to numerous places, we were then asked to go to some places offered by our Tuk Tuk driver (Pi).
This way he gets a commission if we were to buy anything.
So trying to be obliging we went to numerous carpet joints ran by Indians..some were ok, but a few were so pushy I found it hard to be nice and compose myself!..if you raised your voice at them they still did not get the hint!..go figure!!

That night I enjoyed a sample of Australian living with a pizza (stuffed crust) from a can!..hhhhmmmm..not too bad actually!

After two days we ventured North to Chiang Rai where we again camped for two nights which to date has been an awesome experience.
The hosts..Tom and Mod. and their young family, were so generous and friendly, we spent a bit of time talking to them and seeing how their culture works..very different from the South.
The following day we went on a full day trek which just blew me away!.. We started out at the river which took us past mountain temples, villages and guest houses.
Our first stop was at the Elephant village where 30 or so Elephants took refuge. They were unfortunately shackled and at times swayed when they were bored.
We walked amongst them patting them...that in itself was quite overpowering..as their strength alone could crash us but they appeared so dosile.
We also patted a python snake weighing in at 60 kgs!..it was so enormous yet tame..the other python along side weighed in at 100 kgs!..we could get a photo taken with it but it looked much happier in the cage!
We then walked amongst the village where we were greeted by mainly little girls trying to sell jewellery..I unfortunately had no money but they followed me for about half an hour..really sad.
We then had our supplied lunch amongst the Elephants which was really tasty. We were able to talk with a few of the other tourists which were fantastic..have met a new friend of which I hope to catch up with again in Bangkok, of which she is currently teaching English there.
Afterwards we went to the hot springs, walking high into the mountains to see three different hill tribes. They all had their own language yet all farmed a variety of foods..rice, pineapple, opium.
Stretching higher we were all drentched of sweat and in need of a swim!..we arrived at the waterfalls which was amazing.
It was so cool yet refreshing..having to wear sandals in as the rocks were quite slippery.
Afterwards we found our way down a long track, winding for the next 2 hours in the pouring terrential rains..The rain was so heavy yet a breadth of warmth..
Finally we made it again the hot springs, deevised of a pool and a pipe being the hottest of the springs. It was so hot, I eventaully had to get out.
We were then treated to some local custom by our Thai guide who gave us some Thai Whiskey..lets just say we continued this tradition back at camp!
The next day we again went on a site seeing trek with our guest host - Tom. We visited temples and some of the local artists work of the most amazing temple in the world..It looks like something out of White Christmas..will have to find my doc. info. on him as it is really amazing reading.
We saw caves and then ate along a river adjoining the Mekhong.
Little huts with cushions!
It was so amazing!

The following day we somehow found the bus station which took us to Chiang Khong for the night. A lovely guest house with the most amazing foods..internet..and free movies!
The next day our journey begins on the Mekhong river..after getting my visa back, we headed across the river on a little boat then practically herded like cattle into the main boat (after showing our passports 3 times!)
After waiting past a half hour we ventured on our what was to be a 6.5 hour boat ride through the amazing Mekhong River..the views were breath taking..the clouds sat low as we were in high altitude..1000mtrs I think.
I hope to send photos soon as this was definatley a highlight of my trip..the long hours sitting on my butt was not however!
That was very painful, and after so much time of reading, playing backgammon etc..we landed at a little place I cannot pronounce!
The little town was decked with generated power and the odd candle.
We eventually found what appeared to be a tidy little room but later found it to be directly above the kitchen!
We headed up the street to sample some local food..I had the fried rice, vegetable and buffalo which was sensational!..however the oil (palm oil) of which they cook it in did not agree with me!
It was amazing to see what the local life was like here. After 9 pm, the main generator went out and the locals lived by candlelight.
A lot of young town people appeared to be right into the drugs and it was not uncommon to be asked to buy marijauna and opium!
I will definately recommend the local pancakes though!
We were talking to a local boy whose family owned the guesthouse. He invited us inside to see his little nephew recently born, drink tea and play some cards..that was really sweet.
The next day I was up quite early, due to the generator and kitchen smoking me out!
In hope of getting a good seat on the boat, we reached it to find that all seats were of wood with a little cushion!
8.5 hours our journey found its way to Luang Pubang were I am now writing this letter.
Today I was fortunate enough to mix with some local village people and share in some more Lao Whiskey..half between Tequilla and Metho!..quite numbing..we then rode on the back of some skooters for about half an hour..
It has been raining here nearly every day we have been here but it has not been that cold although I do need to invest in some more clothes as I have a tendousy of washing stuff and leaving it to dry out..!!
They do have Laundry services which charge about 10,000 kip per kg..about $1 US...I can deal with that!

After my experiences to date, I have been inspired by the Thai and Lao people to learn another one/two languages..
I am looking forward to training in some Thia boxing, hoping to do that when I head back down the South coast line from Cambodia..hopefully then my shoulder will be right to get into it again..
I miss the activity and physical punishment..hopefully soon!
I would also like to learn how to cook as their stir fries and other dishes are mind blowing!

Will see how I go..when I am travelling on my own I hope to base myself somewhere for a few weeks so I can train properly and meet some more locals..seems so much to do with such little time!!

This is such an amazing country I can only hope that you all will get a chance one day to see as there is little publicity out on Laos.
Political corruption has not occured for approximately three years and the laos people seem quite content with the way things have been since.
Their culture is again different from the North Thai. as is their language.
Look forward to seeing more and participating in some more treks.

I hope you are all well and please email me as I love hearing from you all.
I hope I can post some pictures soon as they are awesome!
I have pictures for some people that I think of when I see particular things..ie small dogs, Thai fighting, markets....

Anyway, hope to hear from you all soon.
(Will not re-read this at it has taken me long enough!!)

Missing you like crazy J!..take care..xx

Love

Mitchxxx



Advertisement



23rd August 2005

Hey there : )
Hey gorgeous, sounds like your having a ball! Miss you heaps though :( Everyone is! I'm working again which is making life easier and keeping well :) MIss you! Miss you! Love Nicole xoxox

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb