Chiang Mai: Cooking, Massage and Trekking


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Chiang Mai and was delightfully greeted by a Thai family that was kind enough to take me in for about 10 days. Nice to get off the backpacker circuit and learn a true lesson in Thai culture!

Sunday morning, I was ready for my first shot at Thai cooking. I booked a course through Ban Tahi Cookery School and they were fabulous! Dressed in a cute little apron and a matching headscarf, I made 5 different authentic Thai dishes (including my favourite curry!) Bonus, I got to eat them all too! I also tried my hand at vegetable carving - the art of creating beautiful flowers and leaves out of the simplest vegetables. I was really impressed with the sight of my plate. That evening, my host grandmother gave me a private lesson in Thai cooking. The food was delicious!

Monday morning was the start of "school". I enrolled in a Level I Thai Massage course. Wow, it sure is much more physical that I expected! But I think by Friday I'd gotten the hang of it. Now its just practice, practice, practice. Any volunteers?

Some highlights of my week in Chiang Mai:

* The Night Bazaar: do I really need to buy more stuff? The answer is yes!

* I met up with one of my high school teachers who was visiting Chiang Mai for a week or two. Crazy, we were both here at the same time! Jane, it was a pleasure seeing you in Thailand and practicing "real" English! 😉

* Svenson Ice Cream - yummy!

* A Herbal Steam Sauna at Spa Mantra. Our school offered us a free steam at their sister spa. It was so refreshing to be cleansed by the Thai herbs and wonderful to be pampered!

* A visit to Lamphun to see the Thai relatives.

* Sending home an 8kg package. My gawd it was expensive!

My last few days in Chiang Mai I went trekking around the Maewang River. I met a great group of people from around the world and we had a blast for 3 days. Hiking, swimming in waterfalls, riding elephants and camping in bamboo huts. A really special part of the trip was our first night in Karen Village. The children in the village came to meet us and sang Thai songs around
WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

(Wearing my new Thai outfit)
the fire. They had such beautiful smiles and bright faces! In return, we tried to teach them English songs, but the best we came up with was Yellow Submarine!

My favourite part of the trip was rafting down the Maewang River. Me and 2 guys from Brazil chose a raft guide named "Crazy Man". Eduardo and Pedro were the first to try their hands at pushing the bamboo raft along the water with long bamboo poles. Its WAY harder than it looks! We managed to crash the raft several times! At the end of the journey we were soaked - several crashes, splashing from Crazy Man and a competitive water fight with the local children who were playing in the river!

Back to Chiang Mai in a pick-up truck - I held onto the back in true Thai style!

Today I left Chiang Mai and am staying in the border town of Chiang Khong. I've met up with Duncan, an English guy from my trek, and tomorrow we will be heading into Laos together.

Want to see more pics? Check out:
Duncan's Blog

Baan Thai Cookery School


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Riding an ElephantRiding an Elephant
Riding an Elephant

Pedro and I "made friendly" with the elephant - feeding him bananas along the way
Hiking through old rice fieldsHiking through old rice fields
Hiking through old rice fields

We did a pathetic amount of walking over 3 days, but we had a great group, so the trip was still a blast
LunchtimeLunchtime
Lunchtime

Our guide Longhair using his cooking skills
My new chopsticksMy new chopsticks
My new chopsticks

Our guide Rocky made everyone a pair of chopsticks out of bamboo
Playing Shithead with the boysPlaying Shithead with the boys
Playing Shithead with the boys

New rule: whoever has the hottest Bond girl on their card, starts first.
Karen VillageKaren Village
Karen Village

The kids from the village came to sing us Thai songs
CampfireCampfire
Campfire

Playing the bongo drum
Around the CampfireAround the Campfire
Around the Campfire

After we played Rocky's game, everyone had their face painted.
Bamboo RaftingBamboo Rafting
Bamboo Rafting

This pics was taken well before several crashes, Crazy man's splashing and our big waterfight with the local children
Driving HomeDriving Home
Driving Home

Hanging on for dear life on the back of a songtheow


28th March 2007

Chiang Mai and Thai Food
Dear Emmy We can't wait to try your Thai cooking! It is wonderful to read your travel blogs and live the adventure with you. Travel Smart, Travel Safe! Love Dad and Mom
28th March 2007

Wow!
Wow!! What a fabulous adventure and what fantastic experiences. Next time you come to visit you'll have to cook us a Thai meal (after our Thai massage, of course). Keep having fun. Looking forward to reading about Laos. Aunt Elaine
29th March 2007

More highlights
Em, I forgot to mention how great it was for you to get together with Jane. What a fluke that she was there at the same time as you. Also, we will be willing subjects for your massage practice...ah-h-h and for your authentic thai cooking...yummy! More baci. Mom

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb