You are all invited for dinner at our house when we get back!!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
December 11th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Today was spent at a thai cooking school called "A Lot of Thai" ... I highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Chiang Mai.... the couple that run it speak really great english, they are both really really nice and the recipes were amazing!!!

Trent and I were joined by a girl we met at the Elephant Nature Park, Chantel from New Zealand... so it was just the three of us. Yui had a baby girl in November and is due to open the school back up on the 21st Dec however opened today for us especially since she knew how much I wanted to attend her school... I had heard heaps of good reviews on the internet and they were all correct!

We were picked up by Yui's husband Kwan who drove us to their house.. In the backyard our stations were all set up ready to go.... First up was Pad Thai (Noodles Thai Style).... Very quick and very easy.... Our second dish was Hot and Sour Prawn Soup... so easy and tasty... Our third dish: Green Curry with Chicken and it was honestly the BEST one I have ever tasted (and thats not because I cooked it!!!)... Our fourth dish was Chicken and Cashew Nut Stirfry... again another perfect dish... by this stage we were ready to burst... you sit down and eat each one before cooking the next!

We took a break after the 4th dish and went to the local market to have a look at all the different food. We were the only westerners there... I got some great 'food' shots!! While there I tried a Pineapple and Lime Fruit Shake... sooo good but I am a bit worried about the ice! Fingers crossed it was clean! Trent didnt want to risk it so he had a coke... the shake and coke were poured into a plastic bag and you were given a straw! Pretty cool!

When we got back from the market we made Vegetarian Spring Rolls and for dessert we had Sticky Rice with Fresh Mango! Right now we are soooo full... At the end you get given a really nice cookbook that Kwan designed and had printed .... very professional and a select few lucky friends will be getting a copy! I couldnt buy you all one ok! Cost for the whole day?! 800 baht! (That is less than $30 for all the food, transport and cookbook!)

Not a huge lot to say today... we are giving the Muay Thai a miss tonight and if we can rouse up enough energy we are going to walk to the Night Bazaar (a night market....) You may not hear from us for a few days... A full 24 hours of travel tomorrow so our next blog should be here by the weekend ... if you are lucky!!

Take care love to you all
Reet & Trent xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

At the MarketsAt the Markets
At the Markets

Can you tell what this is?! Its thai style KFC... look closely... you will see the head and beak!
Pink or White?!Pink or White?!
Pink or White?!

the pink eggs are called 100 year old eggs.... they are a delicacy... and old (but not really 100 years!!!)
Chilli anyone?!Chilli anyone?!
Chilli anyone?!

Dad would be in heaven


11th December 2006

mmm Yummm
Hi Reet Glad you sound more yourself today, again great photos. Love Trent's culinary display. Those markets look amazing. Happy traveling tomorrow. Luv Lee xx
11th December 2006

Yummy, Yummy, Yummy
Wow, very impressive cooking. So glad I live in Adelaide so I get to take you up on the invite - hahaha! You sound happier today and hopefully you didn't end up with the flu. Look forward to hearing from you when you get access again later in the week. Lesleyxxx P.S. I'm sure someone has already told you but just in case - we had 41 degrees Friday and Saturday and tonight I've goy a jacket on it's so cold - really strange!
11th December 2006

Whose house?
Hey Reet and Trent. Dinner where? You have'nt got a house! And mine has a nice new white kitchen in it. I don't want youse all spilling Thai green curry everywhere. Enjoy the rest of the trip.xxx Mum and Dad.
11th December 2006

Yum you're making me hungry
If it tastes as good as it looks I am certainly in for that dinner you mentioned. I know a couple of my sons who would benefit from a couple of cooking lessons, Trent looked like he really enjoyed himself. Happy travels. Trish aka H20 (TA)
11th December 2006

I'll bring the wine!!!
I'm nominating you for Head Chef at the Friday night BBQ, Reet!! Sounds like you are having an awesome time! Cheers, Gary
11th December 2006

Yum! Very excited by dinner at your place.
11th December 2006

Yum! I cant wait for that dinner Reet!
I hope im one of those select few to get one of those cook books!! hehe - Enjoy!
12th December 2006

Well done
Hi Reet, I am just loving your stories. My 13y/0 and myself are doing a course with Kwan when we are Chiang Mai in 2 weeks. I can't wait. Keep your adventures coming pleaseeee.
12th December 2006

Awesome pics!
Hey Reety, I bags one of the cookbooks!!!! Sounds like you both had a great day cooking...love your dad's comments about u not ruining his new kitchen! HAHA!! Missing you....Love Kerry xxxx
20th December 2006

secret herbs n spices??
Bring me back one of those dead full chickens reety, yummy, legs and heads and all.... what do you do with those things??? serve them up with salad? broth or stem them so they de-limb and you get floaty chicken appendage soup.... uurrgghhhhhhhhhh! You crazy kids look like your havin a ball, mwwahhh x

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb