Motorbike ride up Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep Rajvoravihara, Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 26th 2013
Published: April 12th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Australian Joe and I rented a 150cc motorbike today. Our plan was to ride it to Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep Rajvoravihara, a Buddhist temple on top of a mountain. The last time I ride a motorbike was back home when I took the motorcycle class. It was an interesting ride. A little scary getting out of the city since traffic. Rode it like we stole it once we got out of the city though. Well, at least one of us did. As I approached the top of the hill curve, I made a wide turn and almost smashed into incoming traffic. That gave me a good scare. It started raining and that didn't help calm my nerves at all. We eventually made it to the temple in one peace.



"Traveling alone can be an enlightening experience, but it can get lonely at times. Not every hostels or guesthouses are filled with opportunities to socialize. Interactions with other traveler are very casual. Sometimes I find myself alone in a guesthouse for a couple of nights desperate for someone to talk to. Someone who can understand the language that I speak. A great thing about solo travel is that it forces me to break out of my bubble and do things i don't normally do and that is to chop it up with a stranger. There aren't any hesitations. Conversations just flows."

Journal Entry: 10.26.2014


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb