Wednesday Jan. 17


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
January 22nd 2018
Published: January 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday



Today we visited a nursing home that houses poorer elderly. It was very different from nursing homes back in the states. The first thing I noticed was the karaoke in the common area (which was actually outside). Some of the men and women were also dancing to the music. I don’t know if this is a regular activity for them, but it looked fun! Most of them are very active and are able to move on their own. The men and women live in separate areas so we visited each area. The men were all sitting around tables and looked stoic. The women were all sitting on the ground knitting or just sitting peacefully. They could easily get up and down from the ground (something that I struggle to do sometimes tbh). We also visited a room dedicated solely to physical therapy and watched different stretches that they do. After the nursing home, we went to lunch and got some ice cream (with oreos!!!!!!). It was quite delectable. After lunch, it was time for our full Thai massage. I have been waiting for this moment for years it feels like. I had never gotten a professional massage so I was pretty pumped. This is pretty different from the states. Like I said before, they give you clothes and put you in weird positions and push down to loosen your muscles. Boy, was I tight. Probably from the board bed or something. It was a magical experience. I have to find one in the states. We had the rest of the night off, so we all got together and played some games. We played the hand game (one of my favs), signs, and mafia. It was a relaxing night after a couple days of going all the time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb