Udon Thani - Nong Khai - Ban Chiang - Sakon Nakhon - Korat


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Udon Thani
February 11th 2011
Published: February 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Isaan - a special place in Thailand



Dec 9 to Jan 23

I spent most of my time again in Pattaya and Bangkok but made sure that I planned a trip to Udon Thani, a major city in the North east of Thailand. I would also visit a friend in Sakhon Nakhon to the east and on the way there look at the world heritage sight of Ban Chiang. I booked a flight and rental car only to find on the night before leaving for Udon that I had food poisoning. I decided to catch the bus from Jomtiem to the airport in Bangkok and I am still not sure how I made it to Udon without a side trip to the hospital. It took me five days to recover but I still enjoyed my country visit even though my night time activities were limited to staying in my room or going for short drives because I felt so bad.

Udon and Sakon are typically quiet country cities with large lakes standing out as landmarks. I drove north to Nong Khai to see the Australian funded Friendship Bridge which borders Thailand and Lao. The nearby Sala Kaew Sculpture
BangkokBangkokBangkok

Near Central World
Park
is a must see if you are in that area.

I like going to Isaan and the people of the north-east because they are polite, welcoming and they drive much slower than their relatives in the big cities. I was actually getting a bit impatient when driving in Udon and Sakon because everyone was so caerful and polite, a big change from driving in Pattaya.

I dropped in to Khon Kaen on my way from Sakon to Korat where I would visit a Thai family near Chock Chai. Khon Kaen is not the most appealing city but it is a huge regional centre and there will be more to discover on future visits when I am feeling better.

My day in Korat was the most enjoyable time for me on this visit to Thailand. I have stayed with the family many times and it is so nice when people of all ages welcome me back to their home. It was a beautiful, relatively cool day and we just sat around talking, eating and drinking and I met some new additions to the extended family. I always have a good feeling about this place and the warmth of the Thai people to each other and this foreigner is on full display.


Isaan is my favorite part of Thailand. I have never missed Thailand so much since I have returned from my last visit.


Kop khun khrap - Thank you

Sawatdee khrap - Goodbye

Pob gan mai - See you again soon

Click on the pics if you want a larger view of the photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Pattaya Isaan ConcertPattaya Isaan Concert
Pattaya Isaan Concert

The "Pong Lang Sa On" group were playing at this show.
Udon Thani - Nong Prajak Park and LakeUdon Thani - Nong Prajak Park and Lake
Udon Thani - Nong Prajak Park and Lake

A highlight of most Isaan cities are their beautiful lakes and parks
Nong Khai - Friendship BridgeNong Khai - Friendship Bridge
Nong Khai - Friendship Bridge

I walked to the middle of the bridge, it is the border between Thailand and Laos. It is a long walk in the hot sun from the car park.
Nong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture ParkNong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture Park
Nong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture Park

The sculptures are huge and amazing, a must see if you go to Nong Khai
Nong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture ParkNong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture Park
Nong Khai - Sala Kaew Sculpture Park

I was befriended by some elderly ladies and I walked with their family and some monks. They stopped to feed the huge carp in the lake.
Udon Thani - Top MansionUdon Thani - Top Mansion
Udon Thani - Top Mansion

Good, modern and clean room for 400 baht per night. Get a room on the side away from the girlie bar complex if you want a quiet night before 2am when the bars close.
Ban ChiangBan Chiang
Ban Chiang

A World Heritage site with pottery and human skeletons between 4000 and 7000 years old.


16th June 2017

Car rental recommendation in Udon Thani?
Hey. Thanks for the post. Where would you suggest to rent a car in udon thani? i'm sorting out car rentals now and i found www.ud-carrent.com anyone tried them? Thanks.
27th August 2017

Car rental
I drove from Pattaya. Used Budget car rental. Good service. Had a flat battery and they sent a driver with a replacement vehicle.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb