What's a Blog without Pictures!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Khon Kaen
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuk tuk in Khon KoenTuk tuk in Khon KoenTuk tuk in Khon Koen

It barely holds 3, we got 6 in it!
Not much! So, I've rec'd word that there was another glitch in uploading my photos. I'm going to try again and won't bore you with too much text.

...Except to mention that I am starting an exercise program in my village. It is very surprising to see that there are many Thais who overweight and the incident of stroke is so high it is considered the number 3 (1999 statistics) cause of death after HIV/Aids and traffic accidents. I think that HIV/Aids deaths have actually decreased somewhat since that date. I don't have my daughter's talent for Jazzercise so I'm doing the next best thing....speed walking. Speed ...that's kind of a funny word to use in Thailand...they don't seem to have any concept of it unless they're in a car or on a motorcycle! I started with about 25 people the fist evening, last night it was down to 8 and it will be interesting to see who shows this evening....maybe just that water buffalo.

This past week was filled with visits to all my villages (moos). The big boss here, Mr Nyoke (I call him that, he's similar to a mayor) did a bunch of talking and then
I long for my Vanagon!I long for my Vanagon!I long for my Vanagon!

Pat and Janet getting some java in Khon Koen
I did a bunch of talking and then everyone laughed and clapped. They love me here because I make them laugh when I talk and walk and ride my bike. I'm a novelty which will eventually wear off.

Next week I'll be traveling to Phitsanulok and spending about 6 days in the area. It is in the northeast section of the country. Will do another page when I return. Hopefully with some nice photo of the area.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Funeral in PonethongFuneral in Ponethong
Funeral in Ponethong

Notice the rope that attaches to everyone
Get off my exercise courtGet off my exercise court
Get off my exercise court

saalaa is used by everyone and everything
Got 'em in the palm of handsGot 'em in the palm of hands
Got 'em in the palm of hands

We took a 20 minute fast paced walk after this. Ok, so some dropped out.
This is a Real...inner tubeThis is a Real...inner tube
This is a Real...inner tube

American inprovised exercise band
This is a Real...rubberband!This is a Real...rubberband!
This is a Real...rubberband!

Thai improvised exercise band! How many rubber bands does it take to make a ....
Big meetingBig meeting
Big meeting

Must be saying something interesting
Making a pointMaking a point
Making a point

They really don't have a clue what I'm talking about!
Need a shave, haircut?Need a shave, haircut?
Need a shave, haircut?

Big meeting and this is on the sidelines. Check out the girls in the background.
Impromtu salonImpromtu salon
Impromtu salon

No shampoo or set.
They leave ...They leave ...
They leave ...

every morning and come back every night. He just talks to them and they know where to go.
Ants!!!Ants!!!
Ants!!!

I have a little problem...there's a lot of them but they're little.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 58; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb