Another week, Another blog


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-East Thailand » Khon Kaen
April 26th 2009
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Local helpLocal helpLocal help

Noi and Boi. That's as close as I can get to pronounce their names!
I’ve begun to equate my life with that of a gardener…sizing up the plot, testing the soil for richness, clearing the brush and rocks, beginning the weeding and tilling of the land.
Finally, planting the seeds for eventual harvest. This past week I actually did plant my garden. It seemed like the right time. While I was preparing the soil, I ran into a pile of buried rocks that were very stubborn to dig out. It took me a couple of days of hard work to clear some, but not all, of them. I was beginning to think that this plot was given to me because it was not very good or productive. Then I put it all in perspective…it’s not always going to be easy to ride my bike through my 12 villages, attempting intentional relationship building without running into a bunch of rocks once in a while. Guess I’ll need to just let them be and my plants will grow between them. Another lesson is letting go of any perceived ownership. I thought this would by my garden but one morning shortly after beginning to work in it, my neighbor picked up the hoe and started hoeing. Within half
The manure manThe manure manThe manure man

No idea where he came from!
an hour another woman stopped by and took up a pick, then a third stopped to help out too. Before I knew it there was not only no room for me to work but no tools!
Mia bpen ria …I went, sat down and enjoyed the moment!

Most of this week was spent at daycare centers located in three different villages (these are government owned and operated). The Naayok (chief executive of my office) asked me to give my opinion as to how to make Thai children more self confident, better learners and more involved in the classroom. After repeating several times in at least two languages that I have absolutely no educational nor academic background, I headed out resolute to come up with some answers. Asking me for my opinion is always a mistake and I don't think he expected my report on his desk Friday. Let it suffice to say that they need a bit of care and many more teaching materials. It will be interesting to me to see what becomes of my information...I may be begging for more information from all you teachers out there!!!

My next mini project is locating an aerobics teacher.
Enjoying the momentEnjoying the momentEnjoying the moment

Had seen this chair at another home and was asked if I liked it. Said yes and it showed up at my house the next day!
The office gets together once a week and uses the
'conference room' as an aerobics class. They've dug up a DVD from somewhere and for 30mins it repeats the same music and 4 moves. It is very boring and no one is seriously doing the moves...this may be a 2 year project!! Have a good week!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Finally done!Finally done!
Finally done!

It's not huge but you watch it produce!
Road to HomeRoad to Home
Road to Home

I love this road... rice fields on the left and usually some water buffalo.
Getting closerGetting closer
Getting closer

Shortcut through the Wat
Just around the bend!Just around the bend!
Just around the bend!

Don't like it much at night!! Lonely and eerie.
Reminded me of a prisonReminded me of a prison
Reminded me of a prison

They sit and waai until told they can eat.
Love at first sightLove at first sight
Love at first sight

Thai children are very shy but this little guy wouldn't leave me alone.
Look carefullyLook carefully
Look carefully

This guy and his water buffalo go down my road every morning.
My neighborMy neighbor
My neighbor

Rice farmer getting his tractor fired up.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb