Thailand, My first travel destination abroad


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 30th 1991
Published: April 30th 1991
Edit Blog Post

Queen Sirikit and Simply MeQueen Sirikit and Simply MeQueen Sirikit and Simply Me

A memorable event when I was chosen to meet the Queen to receive a certificate for scholarship grant intended for incoming Filipino students at AIT.
APRIL 1991 WAS A MEMORABLE TIME in my life since that was the first time when I have to travel abroad - going to Thailand for my postgrad program. I was lucky to be accepted at the Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) located in Pathumthani Province (just 30 minutes from the old Don Muang airport) to pursue a MSc degree in Urban Planning. It was not easy to accept the fact that I will be leaving my home country and be a stranger in a Buddhist nation. With my positive attitudes towards living, it was not really hard to be exposed to a different culture.

Asian Institute of Technology

My AIT life was never been dull considering that I did alot of things that improved my personal wellbeing as well as my spiritual orientation. Aside from my academic involvement as a full time postgrad student, I was also an active member of the various students' body organisations. And because of this involvement, I had the opportunity to meet the Queen of Thailand, Her Majesty Queen Sirikit (in the picture shown) in an environmental awarding ceremony, and her youngest daughter in one of the Cultural Shows organised by the students. My
OrchidOrchidOrchid

The flower icon of Thailand
brief encounter with Her Majesty The Queen of Thailand was televised nationwide as I was told by my close friends.

First Things in Thailand

With my 2.5 years residency in Thailand provided me the opportunity to explore the country - from Pattaya up to Chang Mai. With my work as a Program Associate in an environmental training organisation offered me alot of invaluable things to undertand the essence of environmental protection and conservation. Some of the milestones of my life in Bangkok are:
first time to play golf (just one hole)
first time to join swimming and volleyball competitions
first time to be a stage actor
first time to be a church choir member and a cheer member
first time to sing without any accompaniment
first time to be an emcee in a formal occasion
first time to eat 'rambutan' (fruit)
first time to ride a train and 'tuktuk', and an elephant
first time to hear a cow-sound from a frog
first time to have a Thai girlfriend
first time to visit a red district, Patpong
and many other things ...
Well, time flies fast and I already visited the country for 4 times already in a span of almost 12 years after I left the country in 1994.
How about you, did you experience living abroad, either thru studying or working? Do you have your 'first' list' as well? Tell me, please!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Golden Grand PalaceThe Golden Grand Palace
The Golden Grand Palace

The most visited place in Bangkok
lotuslotus
lotus

Another flower icon of the country
TutkukTutkuk
Tutkuk

The transport icon in Bangkok city
My E-travel world companion My E-travel world companion
My E-travel world companion

[url=http://www.trivago.co.uk/]Please "CLICK" here for link of: www.trivago.co.uk[/url]


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb